We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Glen
Ranked #22 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Aaron Glen for only one night and this was excellent and wish we could have stopped longer. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were actually upgraded to a suite at no extra cost with a lovely lounge, breakfast room and two lovely bedrooms with ensuite. The whole place is beautifully decorated with good style, taste and very clean. The breakfast was excellent and only added to our delight at stopping here. I would defenitly recommend anybody wanting to be near to Edinburugh to stop here, as they will not be dissapointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank djb600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
112
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a long day travelling, a haven of homely welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Outside of city centre but if you don't want the hustle and bustle this will suit. I was visiting SRUC and was ideally situated. Honesty bar, access to microwave and very important to me (in the dairy industry) was fresh milk. Absolutely fabulous full scottish cooked breakfast in the morning set me up well for the day. Very nicely done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderBall66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A perfect place. Just outside of the city centre but miles from a standard B & B. My son and I stayed while attending a university open day. From the first booking contact and throughout our stay Carolyn was the most perfect host. Picture spotless rooms and crisp white bedding, with every convenience thought of, Aaron Glen has it and more. A lovely warm welcome and an amazing breakfast. We look forward to many more visits in the coming years. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a weeks stay at Aaron Glen whilst visiting family in Edinburgh, the staff cannot do enough for you, friendly, professional with a homely touch. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxed, clean and comfortable stay. We WILL definitely be returning again in the near future. Would not try anywhere else now.

A big thank you to Carolyn, Les, Ellie and the rest of the staff... Missing my full Scottish breakfasts already :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The short version of our experience at Aaron Glen is to just advise you to book it. You will be blown away by the attention to detail in this gorgeous and friendly guest house.

The more detailed review starts at TripAdvisor. After a recent really poor experience at a travel lodge we decided to look for an alternative type of accommodation whilst planning to spend a few days in Edinburgh as a family of four, and with the help of Tripadvisor we stumbled across this absolute gem of a guest house which has the most amazing reviews. We decided to call Aaron Glen direct and after a lovely chat with the owner we booked 5 nights in a family room including breakfast. By the way, Breakfast is a must and deserves its own review as it’s amazing.

On arriving at Aaron Glen we were welcomed by Carolyn who is absolutely lovely and so helpful. We arrived a little early but this was no problem and we were shown to our room where we very pleasantly surprised. Our room was gorgeous.

Our family room was spacious and beautifully decorated in a kind of contemporary style. Our room had a bunked bed for the kids and the most comfortable bed ever for us with crisp white sheets and topped with one of those huge thick chunky quilts you can just wrap yourself up and sink in too. There was a good size Samsung TV with loads of channels, an iphone/ipod radio alarm dock to charge or play music from your phone plus good sized hairdryer in the drawer. There was also Tea, Coffee and the kids favourite, Cadbury hot chocolate plus shortbread biscuits and Scottish Tablet, which is delicious The bathroom was gorgeous, tiled from floor to ceiling with a large walk in glass shower.

There was also FAST and FREE Wi-Fi that the kids found pretty much instantly which is a must or at least the kids think so. It’s refreshing not to have to pay for Wi-Fi in your room or for Wi-Fi only to be available in public areas.

Right, on to the breakfast which like I said deserves its own review!

The first morning we came down to breakfast at around 8.30am to find a huge selection of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits and berries, a great selection of cheeses and all the fruit juices you can think of.

Breakfast is cooked to order and there is so much choice from our favourite Eggs Benedict, which was two large toasted muffins, topped with smoked bacon and two eggs drizzled with hollandaise sauce plus extra mushrooms and vine tomatoes, you can also have this with smoked Salmon if you prefer. The full Scottish breakfast was huge and came with all the Scottish trimmings including black pudding and haggis, it looked amazing and big. We all tried the haggis even though the kids were a little weary at first but have to say we were all pleasantly surprised. Taste a little like stuffing but meaty and a little spicy, very nice.

Our kids generally made up their own breakfasts selecting the items they liked from the whole menu, but nothing was too much trouble for Carolyn and all arrived at the table piping hot.
If you don’t fancy a full cooked breakfast every morning there were Waffles, Bacon and Maple Syrup, Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon plus loads more to choose from or just do what the kids did and make up your own. Tea and Coffee are freshly made is gorgeous quirky pots and white, wholemeal and granary toast served too, plus I know it’s a small thing but proper creamy butter. Yum, well you are on holiday.

They really have thought of every small detail to make the start of your day perfect.

During breakfast were asking about the local area and found out so much local information of what was right on the doorstep that we changed our plans. If you have ever read the Da Vinci Code or seen the movie you will remember the film ends at Rosslyn Chapel with a lady wearing a tartan blanket round her shoulders. Well Rosslyn Chapel is literally on the next road! It’s a good 45min walk but well worth it. There are two parts to Rosslyn Chapel, the castle and the chapel. As you walk up to the chapel there’s a path on the right that goes down a small hill and leads you to the castle and the main Rosslyn House. There’s no charge to get to the castle and the house.

There is a charge of £9 for adults, concessions were £7 and under 18’s with family are free to go in to Rosslyn Chapel. The small charge is to help raise money required to repair this beautiful chapel and I have to say it’s definitely worth a visit, especially if you have read or seen the Da Vinci Code. In fact there’s so much more history in this building its fascinating even if you haven’t seen the Da Vinci Code. Each pillar of the Chapel has different carvings that tell a story including some that have carvings of Corn. Doesn’t sound too interesting until you realise this was hundreds of years ago when Corn was not known in this country, only in America. So who carved it and how did they know about Corn? Throw’s a few if’s in to who had been to America first and then ended up in Scotland. Lots of Knights Templers stories too, plus they have scanned the floor of the chapel recently and discovered figures shaped as knights buried deep underneath.

We were at the chapel for around 2 hours and during that time we had a guide that told us so much about the incredible history of this amazing building. This was one of the best highlights of our stay, and one that we would not have known about had it not been for choosing to stay at Aaron Glen.

The next day we decided to visit the Giant Pandas at Edinburgh Zoo. Luckily Carolyn had advised us to book a time slot online in advance when we made our booking at the guest house as Panda viewing time slots are limited and get booked up quickly. Our slot was 9.30am and turned out to be perfect. We arrived at the Zoo around 9.15am and were one of the first through to see the Pandas, leaving us the rest of the day to leisurely take in the zoo.

Unfortunately the male Panda decided to sleep in that morning but the Female, Tian Tian was in great form and we got some excellent up close photos. What was really cool though was the Penguins. As you come out of the Panda enclosures you hit Penguin Rock which is just amazing, there’s so many penguins of all types waddling and swimming about, including Emperor penguins and those funky ones with the spikey hair from the Happy Feet films.

We had a great day at Edinburgh Zoo, in fact it’s probably one of the best Zoo’s we have ever been too. It’s hard to believe it’s in a city, especially when you are at the top of the zoo and have the most amazing view over Edinburgh and the snow covered hills. Did I mention the zoo is built on a hill, a big one! It’s a climb but the views great when you get there.

Day three we went to the Snowsports Centre, ski slopes. We had no intention of going skiing but after finding out at the guest house the ski slope is literally 5 minutes away, we decided to pop over for a couple of hours and have some fun. We are complete beginners when it comes to skiing but the centre is more than equipped for every level of skier including a huge black run which looked pretty scary to us. Skiing was pretty tiring but we had a great time and lots of laughs, there’s a 360 degree café there that does food, snacks and drinks if you need a breather or just watching. Carolyn at the guest house lent us ski gloves and also a ski jacket to my wife so she didn’t risk damaging her new coat. My wife was blown away by Carolyn's thoughfulness.

We had a car for a couple for days but pretty much ended up getting the bus everywhere as it was so cheap. It only cost £1.50 for adults and 70p for kids to go anywhere. It took just 20 minutes to get to Princess Street in the centre of Edinburgh and we didn’t have to fight for parking or pay expensive parking charges. One good point is you need to make sure you have the correct money for the buses as they are unable to give change. You can also get a day bus ticket for £3.50 if you plan to move around a lot. There’s dedicated bus lanes everywhere and is definitely the fastest and cheapest way to get around.

We also spent a day in beautiful North Berwick which is under an hour away on the coast. Once again Carolyn was instrumental in recommending a day out there and it was a gorgeous day. The beech there is stunning and there are loads of quaint little shops, cafes and bars. We also climbed The Law, which is a hill that’s around 600 foot high. There’s a path that takes right to the top which takes around 30-45 minutes. The view is amazing up there. We made the English mistake of asking how to get to The Law Hill. Apparently Law means hill, so were actually asking where’s The Hill Hill.

North Berwick is a really pretty picture postcard place that’s well worth a day out.

Back at The honesty Bar.

In the evenings at Aaron Glen there’s a lovely bar area where you can relax on comfy sofas and help yourself to drinks from the Honesty Bar! The is a wonderful idea where you just write down what drinks you have had and then pay for them at very reasonable prices the next day or on check out. The bar is very well stocked so you’ll never go dry that’s for sure.

I guess like most people who visit places in the UK, the first thing you think of is to look for the closest travel lodge style accommodation to where you want to go because you think it’s the best value and you know what you are getting. But my recent bad experience in one of these has led me to open my eyes to a wonderful family owned bed and breakfast offering so much more in quality and service for a lot less than the cost of a travel lodge.

When I’m spending a few quality days away with my family, do I want a very basic room that in my experience smelt damp and was pretty much a box with a hard double bed and a worn out tatty old pull out sofa bed for the kids, waking up to microwaved bacon and powdered scrambled eggs dried under a heat lamp for breakfast, or for less money stay and get pampered at a beautiful guest house that has been the absolute surprise highlight of our whole holiday.

I honestly cannot recommend Aaron Glen enough, the quality of accommodation is higher than most hotels I have stayed in, the service from Carolyn and Les is very personal and the hearty breakfasts that are included are the icing on the cake!

After one stay, I promise you will want to return to Aaron Glen for many more short breaks in this wonderful city.

One last tip! There are also a couple of 2 bedroom houses at Aaron Glen if you are looking for something larger, fully equipped with cooker, microwave, all your crockery, cutlery and glasses. There’s a washing machine and dryer, a really large lounge area with two sofas plus a dining area too. There are two separate bedrooms upstairs and a large bathroom. Perfect if you are looking for a base to see Scotland. We had a quick look on our last day and they are beautiful too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rookeydooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from a nice relaxing two day break in Edinburgh. Having stayed in a number of places before we found the Aaron Glen B+B. With good reviews and having checked their website we decided to book. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and throughout the two days nothing was too much effort. Carolyn, Les and the staff were fantastic. The rooms were modern and clean and the extra large shower was great. Flat screen TV and an iPod dock in the room too, not that we were in the room much. The full breakfast in the morning hit the spot. As my wife pointed out not a drop of grease on the plate and I particularly liked the black pudding and roasted vine tomatoes. Delicious.
I would highly recommend a visit and hopefully it won't be too long until we pay another visit ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed her 6th April overnight and what a great reception. Very helpful hosts and no rush to get you to your room. Asked about a place to have an evening meal and directions were spot on. Fantastic breakfast in the morning and time for another blether before we departed. Great place and would highly recommend it. Couldn't believe it was so quiet. I'm more used to Travelodges etc type of accommodation where you hear people walking the corridors late at night and fancied something different and this place came up with good reviews. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent if your planning a trip to IKEA which is just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogs11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Glen

Property: Aaron Glen
Address: 7 Nivensknowe Road | Loanhead, Edinburgh EH20 9AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guest house serving beautiful Scottish breakfasts and providing incredibly comfortable beds. Great access for sightseeing and a large off road car park. Wifi access in rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Glen Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing