We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Friendly Staff, Good Accommodations”
Review of Ritz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #144 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for three nights July 2014. Recommended by a friend, I found the Ritz to be a very nice, reasonably priced hotel with an attentive, pleasant staff (hey, Carlos!). The building is older, and the owners are restoring and updating it in sections over the next months. I just hope they don't remove the wonderful tartan stair carpeting! My room (#16) was very comfortable, and well suited to my needs. Good wifi signal. Shower was good, plenty of hot water. I definitely will stay here on my next visit to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: No. 16 gets excellent wifi in the room, and is nice & quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Ritz Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 409 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

You'll want to pack light when you stay here, there isn't much room for your luggage. The rugs were fairly well stained. You can tell they spent money on partitioning what were probably nice historic buildings but didn't quite succeed. It's not far from the bus route to/from EDI and thus convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wondot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Poor lighting - couldn't read a paper book in bed! Draughty old sash windows and a cold shower with low pressure. Decor doesn't bother me and it wasn't dirty but the place was run down. I've stayed in better hostels for half the price. The nice person on reception told me that all the rooms had tepid trickling showers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I knew from the reviews i shouldnt expect the Ritz. The staff were all young europeans. All were pleasant and always happy to help.
I was allowed to store my bags until check in and on the day of check out while i spent my last day sightseeing. The hotel is dated however i liked it. It reminded me of the family holidays i had in the 1990s.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rjohnclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is my first time to rate an accommodation poor, but our room was just incredibly run down. Poor bed foe comfy sleep and all the furniture looked worse than something out of a college dorm. The water pressure was terribly low. If we hadn't arrived in late on a flight from Ireland, I'd have canceled and looked for something else. At 133.E I just expected a bit more. Sorry Ritz, can't recommend you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okteach_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to attend a wedding in Edinburgh and stayed at the Ritz, ok it wasn't as good as the name but we weren't expecting anything crazy but the service and staff is what makes this hotel a worth stay any 5 star hotels. Rooms depending on what you choose felt a bit small but have good cost beds , hot and fast showers with a nice views around. Price wise the Hotel wasn't very expensive and quite economical considering the peak season and it's location which is under 5mins by any car/taxi or bus to the city centre. On the top note, they have smiling staff members and want to thank one of the reception staff members; Carlos for his exceptional hard work towards helping us and going that extra mile. Would definitely visit again :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NipunMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are searching for a small, quaint, european hotel room then this might be for you. But the price makes you feel like you were completely ripped off. The Ritz is the Pitz! This definitely is not what Americans think of when they hear the Ritz. You check in at the bar...at all hours, there are no elevators and the stairways are very narrow. This of course makes taking luggage up the stairs so much fun. The shower was a trickle and the floors are tremendously noisy as you walk across from them. I'm not sure which war they salvaged the mattresses from...but they were horrid! The hotel doesn't even have a sign. Fortunately my wife saw the name scrolled in the hand rails leading from the street to the front door. This is an incredibly run down hotel that feels more like a youth hostel. AVOID this property unless you like slummy accommodations!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21. You have to sleep with the windows open to get any breeze in the room. This ro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#136 of 150 in Edinburgh
659 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#140 of 150 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 150 in Edinburgh
133 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $61 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing