We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, couldnt ask for more...”
Review of Ritz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ritz Edinburgh
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I went here for an overnight stay with my friend (girlie weekend) the hotel is right next to Haymarket train station and in easy walking distance to Princes street etc. Although you can't check in until 2pm, the staff are brill and let you leave your cases etc much earlier (and same on date of leaving, we left our cases, went shopping and collected cases in time for train) we had a decent size room with a really comfortable 4 poster bed, our en-suite was a big bathroom with bath and shower, with all extra's of shampoo, shower gel, even a shower cap. Our room also had tv with freeview so bit music whilst getting ready, there were tea, coffee, biscuits, hairdryer and even a trouser press, nothing had been forgotten. The breakfast was fantastic, huge choice of everything. The bar had a good choice of drinks and stayed open till the last guest went to bed. All the staff were so friendly. Only downside was we were nearly on the top floor and theres no lift, so be careful if you're not good with stairs. Overall a great hotel for a break away, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geordiegirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 419 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

It an old hotel with small rooms at a vary fair price and with at very, very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We got an excellent deal on this hotel ~ 35pounds/night, so we didn't really expect anything luxurious. We were right on top of the building - 4th floor - without a lift, but figured it'd be good exercise! The room itself was pretty big, and had decent heating, TV, free access to wifi - everything we needed. The shower was pretty bad with zero pressure & chilly, wifi was hit & miss unfortunately. Staff were really lovely with 24 hour reception. We got all we needed out of the room, just don't expect anything flash!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank superduckandroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a four poster room, it was on the back of the Hotel, nice and quiet except for around 6.45 each morning the back door would be slammed to and the dog would start barking - the bathroom was small and anyone bigger than ourselves would not have been able to use the toilet comfortably - there was no room
Breakfast was good, except for toast that was hardly browned - husband had full Scottish breakfast and was very satisfied - I just had cereals and toast.
It is a really comfortable Hotel but could do with a lick of paint - but this did not spoil our stay and we would definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 209967Bett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We paid about 37 pounds for the room with breakfast included and it was definitely good value for the money. The bed was comfortable, room large, tv new/big. And although the room decor was dated it had a charm about it. The breakfast which was included was impressive. Ok, there are some funny smells in the common areas, there is peeling wallpaper and stained carpet...but really cannot beat the price!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked this hotel through late rooms .com and once again they came up trumps.
The rooms are huge and very clean, the bathroom is on par with 4/5 star hotels we have stayed in with regards cleanliness.
The young people who run this hotel are a credit to themselves.... we are in our late 40's and were very impressed with there attitude to there guests and general running of there hotel. The little touches like them wearing Easter bunny ears on the Sunday and cadbury cream eggs hidden under our cups at breakfast was a delight .
Thanks again guys and if were up your way again we will certainly stay at your hotel again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borolad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

looking for hotel for 3 day visit came across hotel ritz.read reviews wasn't to sure but decided to give it a try. Best decision i made! hotel was clean, rooms huge, close to Princess street and staff really friendly i mean where else would you get hotel owner getting up at crack of dawn to make home made muffins for breakfast! HIGHLY RECCOMEND HOTEL RITZ.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186487Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
705 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
684 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
563 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#144 of 151 in Edinburgh
278 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 151 in Edinburgh
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Edinburgh

Address: 14-16 Grosvenor Street, Edinburgh EH12 5EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $59 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ritz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town right in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel 50 years ago.Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ritz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ritz
Ritz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing