We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast, Great Hospitality”
Review of Kingsburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsburgh House
Ranked #165 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Stayed in the Kingsburgh room. Terrific room and decor. The friendly hostess was brilliant, the same for the breakfast, talk about set you up for the day!! Only comment on the room was my wife would have liked a dressing table to sit at and do her hair! Wasn't a problem for me! Next time in Edinburgh we'll definitely stay here. Thanks for the chocolates too!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wramman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in the Campbell room with a magnificent 4 poster. On arrival Andy produced coffee and biscuits and chatted with us offering advice on good restaurants in the city.

We left the car in the car park and took the bus, from right outside, to the city centre: a cab back after dinner wasn't expensive.

Breakfast was huge: Andreona produced a meal we simply could not finish, which was a shame as it was so lovely.

We felt very welcome and comfortable: please don't stay when we are visiting as we don't want to find that there is no room at the inn.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Kingsburgh and it certainly lived up to the rating. Room was wonderful, breakfast wonderful and hospitality wonderful! Really convenient for city centre - bus stop just up the street. Really loved the extra touches ie decanter of sherry, chocolates and the fabulous selection of toileteries. Have already booked a second visit!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed recently for 2 nights in May '08 and had a very relaxing and pleasent stay at the Kingsburgh House. The owners were very helpful, breakfast was fantastic and the accomodation was very clean, well presented and comfortable.

Nice touches to the rooms were a decanter of sherry, bottles of water each morning, chocolates and plenty of toiletries. We even had a free upgrade to a Four-poster room on arrival which my girlfriend thought I had done on the quiet but that was just down to Alan so I couldn't take the credit for that!

Only 10 mins on the bus to the centre of Edinburgh which cost just over a £1 each way. Private parking was good to have at the Guest House.

There is plenty to do and see in Edinburgh that 2 nights was probably not enough, well worth a visit.

A recommended place to stay just out of the busy City centre.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John01Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I had the enormous pleasure of spending some time with my disabled mother at Kingsburgh Hotel.
Warm & caring welcome with an immediate feeling of being invited into a luxurious home. Lived up to 5* status decor & attention to detail. Breakfast fresh quality food perfectly cooked

Thank you Andreona & Andy we hope to repeat the experience soon

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank margeryCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My wife took me to Edinburgh for my birthday and mentioned it to the owners of the Kingsburgh when she booked. On our arrival I was presented with a card and a wrapped box of (delicious) chocolates. Only a small thing but typical of the perfect personal touch we found from start to finish.

Rooms really comfortable and nicely furnished, wide range of toiletries and great variety of teas and coffee (inc decaff), even a decanter of sherry sitting on the dressing table.

There is parking in front of the house so no worries there, it's a 20 min walk, a bus ride or a £6-8 taxi into town.

The food may only be breakfast but it's so tasty and there's so much on offer it can cover lunch too. We had a full Scottish breakfast on the saturday morning, including a delicious haggis, and didn't feel like eating again until the evening despite walking round the hills of Edinburgh all day.

All in all this was the best guest house either of us have ever stayed in. It's luxurious but it never feels formal or uncomfortably posh, just friendly and nothing is too much for the owners to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

It was the most relaxing and beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in. First class service, a beautiful room with a personal touch. It was my husband's birthday and I wanted to take him somewhere romantic and lovely, which the B&B fulfilled and surpassed. I look forward to my next visit!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natashacharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,061 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#110 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsburgh House

Address: 2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingsburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsburgh House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsburgh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing