We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite B&B”
Review of Kingsburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsburgh House
Ranked #166 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Exquisite B&B”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

It was the most relaxing and beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in. First class service, a beautiful room with a personal touch. It was my husband's birthday and I wanted to take him somewhere romantic and lovely, which the B&B fulfilled and surpassed. I look forward to my next visit!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank natashacharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
118
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at the Kingsburgh during our Honeymoon in 2001. We will always remember it as a fantastic experience. Just a short bus ride to the castle, and the staff was so kind. We were hesitant to stay in a "bed and breakfast," but Kingsburgh House felt more like a small boutique hotel than a typical bed and breakfast. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any traveler!

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — distance from the city
  • Stayed June 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Kingsburgh is located in Edinburgh's west end opposite Murryfield Stadium just a short bus ride from Princess Street. Our whole 3-night experience was positive and we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble, the place was spotlessly clean and the number of thoughtful touches exceeded anything we have seen in over 30 years of travel.

Initially we were concerned that the proximity to Corstorphine Road would mean traffic noise but this was certainly not the case. Our bedroom was situated at the rear of the building and we were unaware of any street noise. Off road-parking is secure and there should be no need to use the car as three bus routes pass the door. Broadband internet access is available through a mains/network adaptor on request.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of options - in fact the portions were almost too generous!

Pub food is available within 3 minutes walk but evening meals are best taken in the large range of restaurants in the centre of the town.

It is of little surprise that the Kingsburgh is one of only three guesthouses in Edinburgh holding a five-star rating. Effort, care, investment and passion are all required to achieve this high standard. The owners are evidently highly professional in their outlook yet have not lost the very personal touch which makes guests feel both welcome and valued.

We enjoyed our stay enormously and look forward to returning next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Liked — The high standard throughout, attention to detail, cleanliness and quality.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScotGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

New to laterooms this 5* guest house was a pleasant surprise!
We stayed in the Campbell room for £99 B&B - very good value. Quiet main road location with parking, which is always a bonus and it is only a short bus ride into the west end. The room had a lovely dressed four poster bed, the room was clean and was of a moderate size with quality furniture in keeping with this lovely property. There was complementary sherry (would have preferred tio pepe) which was a nice touch with a couple of chocolates. Complementary water, tea & coffee with Shortbread and biscuits. The television was large and probably spoilt the lovely dresser that it was on (a mounted flat screen would be less intrusive with more channels to have music). There were Robes and toiletries aplenty. The bathroom was a little small but very clean and the shower could have had a better flow. The choices for breakfast were varied and good value. We had the full scottish (sturdy and ample amount) not greasy at all, the sausages were not the best but the rest of the breakfast was very enjoyable. This was the first time we have stayed in a guest house as usually we stay in hotels and some hotels are not to this standard. The friendliness and attention is sadly lost in some of the big hotels whereas this small guest house brings back that lovely homely feel. We were certainly pleasantly surprised and would definately recommend it to others.

  • Liked — clean, friendly great quality for guest house
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStandardGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

On our Scottish trip (Edinburgh) we stayed at the Kingsburgh House (and Kingsburgh room!) 4 years ago and still we remember how beautiful it was! Initially we planned to stay just 1 night but it was really so beautiful, so nice, so carely detailed that we decided to stay another night. Everything really luxured as advertised and really deserved 5 stars.. Ideal for romantic stays (couples) even for one person who seeks tranquility away the crowds. We would stay there again if we are back to Edinburgh even if its location a bit far from downtown…

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 24, 2005

Kingsburgh house is the first five star rated guesthouse in Edinburgh....and it certainly deserves it. The friendliness and thought in service provided by the owners is second to none. They went out of their way to see to our every need.
The decor in the accommodation is out-standing and every bit as luxourious as is advertised. Next to the main house is 'the lodge', which provides self contained accommodation for 4 people. We were kindly shown around this and again no expensive had been spared in its furnishing and decor. It was a pleasure to see such pride taken in providing such outstanding service and high quality of accommodation.
Breakfast included a wide array of choices including strawberries, other fruits, cereals, muffins etc, as well as a full "Scottish" breakfast.....which disappointingly did not include haggis!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,050 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,937 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Hotel
#125 of 392 in Edinburgh
101 reviews
Murrayfield
The Beverley
The Beverley
#63 of 392 in Edinburgh
257 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#130 of 392 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsburgh House

Property: Kingsburgh House
Address: 2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingsburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsburgh House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsburgh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing