We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsburgh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsburgh House
Ranked #141 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Secret Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

OMG - what a wonderful place and our room was luxury. I had my 50th birthday while staying here and got a very spoilt. I reckon we had the best room - not that we know what the other rooms were like but the Kingsburgh room was spot-on. We were welcomed by Adrena and given what seemed like a bottomless glass of wine (lovely) and my husband was given a beer, just what the doctor ordered. The room was huge, the bathroom was fantastic. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and heaps of room. The breakfast, crikey, couldn't eat it all - gave it a good try though. The bus stop is two minute walk. We would like to thank Adrena and Alan for adding to what was a fantastic holiday and making my birthday unforgettable (PS Adrena - I got the diamond-thanks for the hint!!!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rigden62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
118
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's been a while since I last needed to overnight in Edinburgh but the occasion recently occurred and naturally I booked the Kingsburgh House, having so enjoyed my first visit.

The Kingsburgh still ticks all of the boxes. It's comfortable, clean, elegant and above all, Andrena's hospitality, kindness and helpful attitude all combined to make our second visit as enjoyable as the first. Breakfast was wonderful with an enormous selection of cereals, fresh fruits and cooked choices.

My only regret is that we only booked one evening. However we'll be back.

The Kingsburgh used to be the number 1 B&B in Edinburgh and I'm disappointed to see that it has slipped down the rankings. However this is certainly not due to the quality on offer but more down to the way in which TripAdvisor collates and presents user feedback. There are hundreds on B&Bs in Edinburgh and others rate higher because more guests leave TA more reports.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ended our Scotland trip at The Kingsburgh Hotel and expected a lot, as we had paid a lot. The room was a bit disappointing as we went for the four poster bed which was OK but the bathroom was small and in need of a refresh. The service was great and the food wonderful so no complaints there, the owners were very friendly and I would have no problem recommending a stay here but I just felt it was a little pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the initial contact to the end of our stay this was a first class experience. We received a very warm welcome and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble to our charming hosts. We had a double and a twin room, both were very thoughtfully presented, well maintained and clean. The breakfast was amazing, such a choice from cereals, pastries, fresh fruit (including mango, pineapple, fresh figs, melon, berries etc) and I have never been served such an enormous and well cooked full breakfast. We received advise and guidance of what to visit and how to get there, taxis were ordered for us when required and when I mentioned that it was my birthday a lovely box of chocolates appeared for me. I thoroughly recommend a stay at Kingsburgh House and certainly feel that we received value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairyGodmotherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTREE, ISLE OF SKYE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and, as it was paid for by our daughter, we didn't know what to expect. We were certainly not disappointed in any way. Fantastic place to stay and the owner helped us regarding the bus times etc, ; the bus stop is right outside and buses run every ten minutes. We went to the last showing of the Tattoo and enjoyed it all the more because of our stay at the Kingsburgh House! The bedroom and en suite were spotlessly clean and the breakfast table had everything on it imaginable. Stay here and you will be glad you did - experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles,
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Clean, beautifully furnished, nothing too much trouble, wonderful breakfast and great welcome of wine, beer and chips/crisps. Great help with getting into Edinburgh town using public transport and advice on where to go and what to see.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs room and you could hear a little noise of the other guests coming and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganAussie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eibergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a nice room in this beautiful house in Edinburgh. For this city it's a great place to stay. The breakfast was absolute fabulous. Our only comment is that our room needed some maintenance and we could not connect to the free WIFI network of the house. The staff was very friendly. We can recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luukutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Hampton Hotel
#116 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Corstorphine
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
#119 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
The Beverley
The Beverley
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Murrayfield
Twin Lions Hotel
Twin Lions Hotel
#152 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsburgh House

Property: Kingsburgh House
Address: 2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingsburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kingsburgh House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsburgh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing