We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adria House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$187
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$146
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
467
44
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
44
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal terracecalton hillb broyal milehigh ceilingsgeorgian styleprivate bathroomcobbled streetgarden viewwithin walking distancelovely hoststop floorshort walkbreakfast was deliciousedinburgh playhouseholyrood palacetrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 514 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Adria House was a great location and as one end of the road was closed due to construction of the tram system it was also very quiet. We had a family room which was very spacious and bright. No elevator (lift) but they were very willing to help with luggage.
Free internet available in the sitting room which is very tastefully decorated.
A cab ride from Waverley Station was only GBP4.80.
Maria and Eddie were the perfect hosts and very helpful. They even brought in soy milk for our breakfast as we do not drink cows milk. They will also provide a packed breakfast if you need to leave very early.
Princes Street was in walking distance (10 minutes) as well as many restaurants ranging from ethnic to pizza, a 12 screen movie theatre and Playhouse Theatre. Also very close to the Hop On Hop Off bus tours.
Calton Hill is immediately behind Adria House up a hill, offering amazing views of Edinburgh and beyond on a clear day.
Grayline Tours will pick up just up the road if you are taking a tour for the day.
We would stay here again without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornToTravelBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Adria House is a delightful Georgian townhouse conveniently situated in a quiet location yet within walking distance to the city of Edinburgh and the tourist spots. We stayed for 4 nights in late June 2009. Our room was very comfortable (lots of bed linen), clean, spacious and quiet with a lovely view of the rear garden. The ensuite bathroom was spotless. Our gracious hosts, Maria and Edward, were lovely – friendly, very helpful and caring. They were kind enough to store our luggage for us while we continued our tour to the north of Scotland before returning to Edinburgh. There are several places to dine within walking distance. Climb Carlton Hill (just at the back of Adria House) to get a marvellous view over the city. We have no hesitation in recommending the Adria House to anyone planning to visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed in Adria House recently myself my husband and 6 year old son. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Both Edward and Maria were so pleasant, friendly and helpful and willing to do all to ensure we had the perfect stay. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and despite being only 5 minutes from the centre of town it was amazingly quiet. Breakfast was lovely and the hot chocolate and toast were a real treat for our son. Access to the internet was also very convenient. We wish to thank Edward and Maria once again for making our stay so pleasant and wish you both continued success with Adria House. Mary, Nickey and Darragh Nevin, Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnevinKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The Adria House was absolutely delightful!! It was immaculate, the furnishings were beautiful. We stayed in the family room so the room was huge and very accommodating. Our hostess and host were wonderful; they helped us plan activities for the best value and were always available. The food was great. And the location was marvelous as we could easily walk to most of the sites and, if not, the bus stop was very close. It was in a quite neighborhood and was able to experience the culture in a relaxed setting. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We recently stayed at Adria house for 3 nights. Our room was large, quiet, and had a huge window. We had a private bathroom across the hall that was very clean and had a tub/shower. Robes were provided, and we had a key to the bathroom. Breakfast was great (they even prepared packed breakfasts for us when we had an early bus to catch!), and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Free internet was also available. Located on a quiet street, but within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews