We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but the most over-priced place we've ever stayed.”
Review of Eyre Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eyre Guest House
Ranked #297 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but the most over-priced place we've ever stayed.”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Eyre Guest House is in a lovely part of the city surrounded by beautiful Georgian buildings, boutique shops and cafes and it's just a short walk (about 10mins) to Prince's Street. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we initially had high hopes of finding a top quality family run B&B with a personal touch.

However, although the room was ok, for the price we paid we just did not find the standard good enough. We paid £130 a night for four nights (£520) and although this was during the Edinburgh festival when prices are higher, we still expected a much higher standard of accommodation. We have genuinely never stayed in a place which offered so little value for money.

The disappointment came from a number of things as follows:

The room:

- The bathroom was as small as it could possibly be - it was a squeeze to make it past the sink into the shower cubicle and when you did the water pressure was very poor.
- Tea/Coffee and biscuits were a welcome provision but the cups were dirty so we had to wash them ourselves. Also, the one practical plug socket wasn't working so we had to boil the kettle on the floor for the entire stay.
- There were no toiletries apart from a small cheap soap and the towels were poor quality.
- The iron was in the communal sitting area, making it really impractical to use.

Breakfast:

- Breakfast was served in the "sister" guest house two doors down (http://www.ardenlee.co.uk/). It was pretty good and served by helpful and efficient staff but there was some disappointment that the "vegetarian option" as listed on the menu was a full fried breakfast, just without the bacon and sausage.

Paying:

Finally, when we paid by credit card on departure, we were informed that a 3% administration fee would be added on - an extra £16. We travel extensively in the UK and elsewhere and have never had this added onto the agreed price! At an extra £16, this took the price per night up to £134. If this was standard practice we would have made funds available to use a debit card.

Although we have stayed in worse accommodation, this is the worst we have come across for the price. By comparison to other places we have stayed, we would not expect to pay over £80 per night for this standard and have stayed in much better places for less than that.

For comparison, we visited Edinburgh during the festival last year and paid £315 for a three night stay at the four star George Hotel on George Street (http://www.edinburghgeorgehotel.co.uk/). This was £19 cheaper than the Eyre Guest House per night and this not only provided us with a much more central location but also the associated luxury of a four star hotel - grandiose surroundings, 24 hour reception, immaculate room, contemporary furnishings, super king size bed, flat screen tv, large bathroom with walk-in shower and luxury toiletries/towels, room service etc. If we visit Edinburgh for the festival next year, we shall be looking for a similar deal back at The George.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
13
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern_California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed at the Eyre Guest House for 3 nights in July, while in Edinburgh to watch the 2010 British Open in St. Andrews. Location-wise, I would consider it so-so. I mean..really the main street(s) are Princes Street (about a 15 minute slightly hilly walk or 2 minute bus ride) and the Royal Mile (about a 30 minute walk or 5 - 10 minute bus ride). The walk to Princes street is a bit of a hike especially when it's raining outside (which is basically every 15 minutes). Not too bad though, considering you're in Europe vacationing.

Accomodations-wise, the rooms/bathrooms are typical European-size. Small. I reserved a room for a solo traveller and got Room 2 at the Eyre house. TV is old and small. In the bathroom, if you're taking a #2, your face will probably be over the sink and your foot in the shower to be comfortable.

Breakfast is served at the Ardenlee house, two doors down....decent....good start to the day. The innkeepers/staff are helpful and nice as you would expect. Bus stops are 30 second walk away. There's a small supermarket close by if you get hungry.

They don't really clean/change towels or provide you with shampoo/soap, etc. So, bring your own!

Overall, sufficient, as far as whether I would stay there again...not really...i'd like to try something else. It's not that it's bad...but I'm sure there are better (location/accomodations/etc) out there.

Note: No internet

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerdy_Dood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed here last weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. We had a great big room on the first floor at the back of the building (room 4) which was well equipped and nice and quiet. The location is ideal as you are only a 15 min walk onto Princes Street but you are also only a 2/3 minute stroll into Stockbridge which is our favourite area with lots of restaurants etc. They serve a free breakfast next door and it was superb as well. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highburykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Just back from a two night stay here. We stayed in a large family room - two double beds plus extra single bed which suited us fine. (we are two adults, kids, 12,10 and 4). Room was warm, clean and felt spacious compared to travelodge. So refreshing to find a room for five in Edinburgh. Couple who run it were very nice - letting us book in a little early and eat our sandwiches in the downstairs lounge before our room was ready! They also let us leave our bags there on the last morning - enabling us to do more sight seeing before catching the train home. Breakfast was great. The guest house is a 15 minute walk from the National art gallery on Princes St (down hill on the way there, up hill on the way back to town!) The bus stops very close by and runs very regularly. Unlike a previous review, I would say pictures on the website give an honest impression.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My Son and I stayed at this Guest house for three nights and we enjoyed ourselves very much . We booked late so there was only a small double room left . It was small but bed was comfy and there is a living room downstairs with a big tv and sofa there if you want more space ! Kay and Kenny did breakfast for us in no 9 two doors away and this was no problem ..Kenny made a loverly breakfast every morning top class! Anything you wanted to eat and drink was there . Kay was an absoulute gem she made all the guests very welcome and it was loverley to see her in the mornings chatting nicely to everyone. They invited every guest for a glass of champers for new year and my son and me even went to princess street concert with them and had a fabulous time . overall it was a great short break and would recomend it to everyone Kay and Ken are a loverly couple and made us very welcome. will be going back there again in the future as we really had a nice time .. Thanks..

  • Liked — The loverley warm welcome from Kay and Kenny
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank starshine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed at the Eyre guesthouse in edinburgh for three nights in early October. We had a lovely room on the first floor, at the back of the building overlooking the garden. The room was very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was taken in the Ardenlee next door and was really good - it set you up for the day. Edinburgh is an amazing city and we were only a 15 minute walk away from all the main attractions, and a short bus hop to the castle. Can recommend.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sueandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed for four nights.

The "double room" was intolerably small and cold! The room itself had the size of a single room but with a double bed crammed in. Two persons could hardly pass one another and there was no wardrobe and no place to put your things, so your suitcase consumed the rest of space.

The "bathroom" was so small that it was almost dangerous (and for older people very likely impossible) to get out of the shower. Absurd. There also was some mildew.

And was there a room/cleaning service? If so, what did they do? The room was not cleaned properly with chewing gum from previous guests under the bed and shower gel in the shower. We didn't get new towels but each day found our own newly folded on the bed.

And it was cold! Central heating was turned off at 9pm and with the insulating of the window being inadequate the room got really cold at night (we were there in October).

Conclusion:
Looks fancy on pictures, but isn't.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room, the bed, the cold, the shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ardenlee Guest House
#203 of 392 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 392 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#97 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,897 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Guest House

Property: Eyre Guest House
Address: 5 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eyre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing