We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple, wonderful place to stay on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Ranked #332 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A simple, wonderful place to stay on a budget”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Braveheart Guest House is by no means a 4 star hotel... it is very much a house, and an old one at that. HOWEVER, it is perfectly comfortable, good breakfast, warm employees and a great location for walking around Edinburgh. I can't say enough about how friendly and accomodating the employees were; they really wanted you to be comfortable, well fed and able to enjoy the city that they all appear to love so much. I had a single room with the toilet down the hall, and I found it to be a very comfortable stay. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
22
40
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights I firstly have to say that the place could with a little updating its a bit dark and gloomy in places. We came as a couple and were given a large family with two double beds and two single beds, there was a large dirty rug on the floor and a crack in the sink. The staff were pleasent though as i had booked with bookings.com and they had informed me that checkout was 12 and not 2 we were made to wait over half an hour for our room. The breakfast was really nice and it was nice to fianally see the owner as he wasnt around much though I think that it was rather unhygenic to have their cat in the room!! The only other issue we had was with out tv we couldnt get it tuned in it wasnt till the morning that we were leaving that I was looking for a lost glove we realised that the ariel wasn't plugged in,We camethe beginning of April in the bad snow so on our 2nd night we also got a dvd out and that wasnt working either. Would not recommend this place or go back again :-((

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Arrived by train to be shown to a room with three single beds ( we had booked a double)
As this was unsuitable we were given a family room with two small doubles and two singles and a view of the lovely building opposite.The room had high ceilings and lots of period features.The sheets were fresh and we were comfortable ( we were even given an extra heater as the radiators were off) Staff were very friendly
It was a budget option and we were served a budget breakfast..The place is grubby ( clean freaks beware) The area is interesting.We went to an art house cinema nearby and had a good curry at a restaurant in the same road.Buses are frequent and a £3.20 day ticket gets you unlimited travel on most routes.We saw the pandas in the zoo ( fabulous!)
Went to Tom Kitchins restaurant in Leith for lunch .A real treat and loved the area.The castle the Royal Mile Prices St etc etc
Braveheart gives you value for money and is very central but I think next time I would pay just a little bit more.

Room Tip: Check you get what you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My first time to visit Edinburgh for 4 nights stay and it was a blast. Thanks to Braveheart's fantastic location! Walking distance to city centre and Edinburgh Castle! Made it easy for me and my friends to explore the city.
Hats off as well to the wonderful staff who were very accommodating to our requests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ri0Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Its best feature has to be location, just behind Edinburgh's Castle, you can walk to the city centre, as well as use different buses to move around. The breakfast was perfect to start your day and rooms were clean, just a place to spend the night after a long day walking all around the city!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I had a great stay! The location is perfect- we could walk to city centre.
I left my camera there and Talo mailed it back to Canada for me! What lovely hosts. I would recommend this place to anyone is visiting Edinburgh. You will be well taken care of :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This guesthouse was well suited for our needs during our Edinburgh visit as it is very conveniently situated close to the city centre and attractions. Although clean, the decorations were somewhat tacky and the bathrooms require a professional finish. Breakfasts were small but adequate. Some members of staff were really friendly and helpful, however, others came accross quite rude and abrupt, especially during breakfast service. Despite the minor negatives, we would probably stay there again as it was good value for money considering the excellent location of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roelien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cruachan Guest House
#226 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#174 of 392 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#187 of 392 in Edinburgh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Martin's Guest House
#94 of 392 in Edinburgh
257 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
186 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#102 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh

Property: Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Address: 26 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braveheart Guest House offers high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation to visitors eager to stay in the heart of Edinburgh - Scotland's historic capital city. Located just off a vibrant city centre full of restaurants, bars, hotels and theatres. Braveheart Guest House is perfect if you are planning to visit the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace - or the stunning Edinburgh Castle. Braveheart Guest House was built in the early eighteenth century and eight rooms, of which six are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing