We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Avoid avoid avoid!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Thistle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Guest House
Ranked #400 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible! Avoid avoid avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Unbelievably bad! We didn't arrive at the guest house until just after 6pm which we had advised them of beforehand. When we got there the front door was locked, and no one answered either of the two buzzers on the door. I tried to ring their number after about 20 minutes of waiting, no one answered! About 15 minutes later we received a text message to give us the code to get the master key and our room key which was inside on a table. The next morning we went to reception to pay for the room and the girl at reception didn't work for the guesthouse, she worked for the beautician that operated on the bottom floor. The bill included a £5 fee for the express checkin! I refused to pay based on it wasn't advertised at time of booking and the fact no one was actually on the building and we were left waiting 40minutes at the front of the building. Things did not get better!
The room was ok but the bed sheets had stains on the them, two old pillows were stuffed into each pillow case and you could see ugly stains on the doona/duvet through the cover. You couldn't get wifi on the top floor which was where our room was, and the communal toilet/bathroom was not cleaned the entire time we were there! (We were there for three days). Also toilet didn't flush properly, the doors were difficult to open/close and there was a strange tilt to the floor in the entire room. We did not see, speak or hear any staff the entire three days we were there. On the last day the flat screen TV fell off the wall and smashed on the floor. My husband and hadnt even touched it and we were lucky we werent near it. closer inspection saw the bracket had been screwed into the plasterboard with plastic screws. Couldn't find anyone to tell so again had to ring the number. She said someone would come to replace during the day. When we got back the broken TV and bracket had been screwed back in to a different part of the plasterboard with the same screws.
Overall a terrible experience. This is not a guesthouse, this is someone's house and they just rent out the rooms. They don't bother to clean and are extremely lazy about maintenance. And well over priced for what you pay! Don't pay more than hostel rates for this place because you won't get any better for your money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassKeep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    25
    19
    38
See reviews for
18
38
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Booked this as it was reasonably priced. The cleanliness was questionable. The bed had seen better days. In addition there was only 1 towel even though 2people were staying. When going downstairs to ask for another towel I found that the breakfast room was also being used for linen sstorage as well as the reception.

This bed and and breakfast could have so much potential but it seems like its just a side thought over the beauty salon downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived to check in at 6.00pm to find a buzzer on the door which didnt work. Door pushed open into a small hall with no staff in the building. Found an envelope with my name written on and a room number but no directions where room was located. Room was very poor with wallpaper peeling off walls and damp on ceiling, however the sun was shining and i managed to overlook this. Met another guest who had gone through the same check in experience as me and her room key had jammed in the lock making it impossible to open..again it appeared no staff in the building to help. Adding insult to injury, on checking out i was charged an extra £5 for late check in!! Apparently check in is before 4.30!. If like me others work until at least 5.00, this is nigh on impossible. To be charged £5 for the privelige of picking my own keys out a basket left a bitter taste all day and i felt ripped off. i have asked the invisible owners to contact me and await a response.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottie2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The guest house reception procedure was okay, however from there on in it was downhill. The rooms we booked were all very small, did not appear very clean and were lacking in maintenance. No toilet paper in the one shared facility for 24 hours! Front of the property faced onto a busy road so one is woken by the first bus at 0430. Could do with double glazing. For the duration of the stay there was a large bag of dirty laundry in the lobby making opening the front door difficult. This was the only fire escape too. Certainly would NOT recommend in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Picked this place to stay saturday night of 8 June 2013, due to fact it was 300 yards away from the start/finish line of the Moonwalk.

Location for the above event - perfect. Handy for Edinburgh centre - maybe not, but number 12 and 25 bus just outside the door take you there in 10 mins. £1.50 single, or £3.50 for a day ticket. Buses are constant - but you don't hear these from the B&B. Even on a Sunday morning there 5 an hour, so no issues re. getting to the captal.

The B&B is half B&B and half beauty centre. Unusual self catering breakfast set up i.e. at one of 3 dining tables, placed in the reception for the daily beauty parlour which also exist in the B&B. However - don't let this distract the fact everything on offer is fresh.

Continental breakfast includes: juices, cereals, pastries, tea/coffee. The word 'unusual' stated above is only used because it's like making breakfast in your home. Go into the fridge for your own milk, juices, yoghurts - search for plates and culinary in the cupboads, and feel free to open a new loaf of new bread so you can have toast! Also - microwave avalable.

The place is extermely clean and no one should be put off by stopping here. Thank you for a nice, peaceful and pleasant stay. Mr S, York

Room Tip: Room at the back of the place, must be better than the front (away from main road), would be somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid_Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good guest house with a good procedure for late arrivals. Perfect for a one night single bed stop over in Edinburgh with bus links with city centre outside front door.

Check out is at 10am but not before!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMikeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed there for 1 night in July 2011.. rooms are small but okay, cleanliness is also okay, breakfast okay, location okay.. a bit far from city center, but its just beside the bus stop so you can easily get into one to go to the city center,. i prefer staying in a place which is near to almost everything though, specially when im in a short visit .. its just the basic of everything .. i don't really have anything to complain about but wont also recommend much this hotel ..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MehreenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Leith House
#350 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Guest House

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Guest House
Address: 10 E. Hermitage Pl., Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edinburgh Thistle Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Thistle Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing