We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
138
130
58
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
130
58
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flights of stairs no lift bus station great location york place tram stop full scottish breakfast room was clean lovely guesthouse breakfast was excellent road noise gave us a map happily stay here again yogurt central location omni centre playhouse theatre stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 344 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

An exellent place to stay when we spent two days in Edinburgh after our walk along Hadrians Wall! A place we can recommend everybody. The hosts were friendly, helpful and gave good service. The room was clean and comfortable. Thank you very much!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACplusMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

You cannot fault the welcoming, warm, friendly nature of the staff. This is a real gem in the heart of Edinburgh.

Small but comfortable rooms with good simple facilities. The only place I have ever stayed where it isn't a trouble to ask for more milk!... or an ironing board for that matter!

Breakfast is superb.

It is a real joy to stay in such a well-run establishment. Top marks!

Somewhat let down by the local building work at present on the approaches. Car parking is in the nearby multi-level car park. No lifts from street entrance so you must be able to negotiate stairs to reception level and to upper level rooms.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierreMalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Major street construction happening outside hotel. Loud machines starting early, running late. Looks to go on for some time. Stay away! Plus, the wifi reach in the quad room (#14) is bad. Overall, very poor night's stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was in Edinburgh for a sporting event, and needed a hotel room for the night. This proved a bit of a challenge as it fell right in the middle of the Edinburgh Festival, and places were either sold out or prices through the roof, but after a good search I found Elder York Guest House.
Excellent little family run hotel just minutes walk from Princess Street and right in the heart of the action.
Not exactly 5 star, but for what I was after it did the job and would happily stay here again if I needed to be in Edinburgh again.
Fantastic full Scottish Breakfast waits for you in the morning and a great way to start the day.
All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Elder York is a great guest house because of its hosts and staff. They are warm, helpful, attentive, and informative. We visited Edinburgh for the marathon (late May) and they were very accommodating. My daughter had a fun run on Sat. for warm-up and a marathon on Sunday, and needed to leave the guest house earlier. They not only provided early breakfast (not cooked) for all the runner-guests, took care of our luggages on the day of departure, but also offered my daughter the shower room and towels when we come back to pick up our suitcases. How thoughtful was that!

Most amazingly, the after-care was also provided. I left my mobile phone in the dining room and they kept it safe, and even offered to send it back. When it finally got back, the parcel was securely wrapped. A big big thank-you to Harry, Shelley, and Monica(?).

As many previous reviewers said, Elder York is centrally located, and hence, is a fantastic base for exploring Edinbourgh by foot. Of course, the down side of staying at the heart of a city is that you can't avoid some noise, which is more audiable during weekend.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biyu1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews