We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brae Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Lodge Guest House
Ranked #104 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“3 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

A bit late with this review as I was here in May. from the start I was made very welcome, and nothing within reason was a problem for them, Even borrowing shoe polish. In the mornings I had to leave early which was accomodated with an early breakfast and great banter. It felt like home from home, thanks again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Derick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Mr G,
Thank you for the great review. It was good to see you again this year and we look forward to seeing you next time. Please pass on our best wishes to Mrs G!
Lesley & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Location is good, very close to a frequent bus line from North Bridge (and an option to Waverley Bridge, too). Nice and freshly renovated rooms (early 2014), very helpful owner (Neil) made all the difference. Nice Scottish breakfast options. Would definitely return. The rooms are well described on their website: most are not large, but more than enough for a few days' city-tripping.

Room Tip: Read the website for room descriptions: some are quite small. Not a problem if you know what to expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pragtich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello...we are really pleased to hear that you would definitely return to us the next time you are in Edinburgh.
As a small business we do appreciate you taking the time to give us such a good review.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Neil & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay of 4 nights in Brae Lodge. Hosts Neil and Lesley were so welcoming. Made our stay very memorable. We enjoyed our breakfasts and were very well looked after. Our room was very comfortable, lovely decor and spotlessly clean. Would love to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Debbie and Pam.
Thanks for the fab review. Delighted that you had a memorable stay and we certainly enjoyed meeting both of you.
We were pleased to be able to recommend places in and around Edinburgh for you to visit during your stay, even though we had to work on the pronunciations ;-)
And you never know we might see you again.
Cheers
Lesley & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lovely clean room with en-suite. Great location not too far from town and serviced with transport links. Easy to find as well, not far from the Edinburgh By-Pass turn off at Straiton. I considered it to be great value for money. Ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Jamie...
Thanks for taking the time to give us such a glowing review.
We are just sorry you could not stay longer but maybe your next trip to Edinburgh will be longer.
Cheers
Neil & Lesley :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Bus stop virtually at the front door makes it so easy to get around Edinburgh without the stress of using your car. A real bonus. Host Neil was very welcoming and helpful while Lesley's breakfast specials were a great start to the day. While the room we booked was compact, it was fresh, spotless and very comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Beth & Barry,
We are happy to hear you liked your stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Lesley was delighted that you mentioned the breakfast specials :-) .
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip around Scotland.
Regards
Neil & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very nice and friendly Landlord, very clean rooms, comfortable, breakfast was delicious. You get to the city centre by bus in few minutes and in case of emergency can even walk the distance. The prices are absolutely reasonable. I can only recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisschaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi!
We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you would recommend us to future guests. No doubt we will see you again for your next Scottish adventure! :-)
Kind Regards
Neil & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Brae Lodge is conveniently located, off street parking, bus at the door and Edinbugh has a great bus service to access all the attractions. Accommodation is a bit basic, smallish room with ensuite built into original bedroom - notice other reviews indicate more spacious rooms. We had a nice quiet room at the back. Nice fast WiFi but tiny TV on the wall. Breakfast was OK, maybe we were spoilt by previous B&Bs - no real fruit, couldn't have poached eggs. Neil, host, is really nice and helpful and overall OK value for money - we rated 3 but would go for 3.5 if we could.

Room Tip: Go for quiet back room but check room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraeLodge, Owner at Brae Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Sue & Ken,
A big thank you for the "Very Good" score in 4 areas of your review. Any customer feedback is important to us but we would like to clarify that at the time you booked online back in December, both the standard & larger twin were available. You must have felt that the rear facing twin was more appropriate for your 3 nights stay.

Sorry about the mix up with the style of eggs required, but Lesley was just finishing off your order when you requested a change. We did have 3 types of fresh fruit on offer during your stay which does change during the seasons.

It was super meeting you both. Hope to see you again.

Neil & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
0.8 mi away
Alpha Guest House
Alpha Guest House
#144 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doris Crook Bed and Breakfast
Doris Crook Bed and Breakfast
#278 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Northfield House Hotel
The Northfield House Hotel
#166 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alba Hills Guest House
Alba Hills Guest House
#62 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Lodge Guest House

Property: Brae Lodge Guest House
Address: 30 Liberton Brae, Edinburgh EH16 6AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brae Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 3 Star Gold B&B! Ideally located for your visit if you are staying for either business or pleasure. With free off street parking and 15 minutes by local bus into Edinburgh's lively and historic city centre. Just relax and enjoy your stay with us. Also close by are some beautiful scenic walks along the Braids Hills and The Royal Observatory and the famous Arthur's Seat. Also nearby are attractions like Craigmillar Castle and Gilmerton Cove. There are 6 clean and comfortable rooms all have en-suite with showers. And all have hairdryers, Freeview TV, clock/radio and free WiFi is available. Breakfast is a traditionally Scottish one, which includes the famous Haggis!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brae Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing