We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off by East to Book and no reply to email!!!”
Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hostel
Ranked #107 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arrival at the hostel I was informed that you had 'double charged me for a 2nd person for 2 nights and my bill was double what it should be!! I emailed you about this but no response!!! Therevwere no electris in rooms as the wires had been cut at the sockets to prevent overuse by guests.. overall very bass backpacking accomodatio and fine for the money that I 'should' have been charged!!!!



  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Seven I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a very cheap place to stay in Edinburgh and it is very handy for Haymarket train station and the bus to Edinburgh Airport which is why I chose it.

However it has some serious flaws which are really basic to making staying a hostel agreeable:
1) No lockers (secure or otherwise) in the rooms so you have to sleep with your handbag and laptop in the bed.
2) Terrible showers (at least the one I used) with a dribble of water which alternated from almost scalding hot to significantly chilly all by itself.
3) No shelves or hooks anywhere, so you have to dump your clothes, towels and toiletries on the bathroom floor (which by the time I arrived was not very clean).
4) Very cramped (at least the bathroom and bedroom I used)
5) No shelves in the bedrooms - a wee shelf next to your bed would be handy to put your glasses and your phone on!
6) No sockets in the bedrooms to charge your phone or laptop

The website boasts that there is original art on the walls; I suggest selling the pictures and using the cash to put in a few shelves, hooks and lockers - things that will make it more amenable to stay there.

I've stayed in hostels in the emerging independent travel industry in China and Mongolia which have obviously thought more about what their customers needed. As a resident of Scotland, it's somewhat of a disappointment that this Edinburgh hostel has failed so badly in the basics.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elljay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The one star is for location. Unisex bathrooms with only 2 toilets and 3 showers for around 40 people on the first floor (not sure about other floor), cleaned once per day, means by midnight, you are stepping in urine and have to hover or clean the seat every time you use the toilet. And this is on a good night when there isn't a large group of Spanish teenagers smashing the crap out of the bathroom doors. When reception closes at 23:00, EVERYTHING CLOSES. If you want to stay up past 11pm and not go out, you can read in bed or sit in the hallway using the internet if you brought a laptop, etc. The kitchen is closed. The lounge is closed. In the kitchen there is a security camera with threatening signs stating you are being watched and will be punished if you don't clean your spoon with the disgusting sponge they provide. In addition, I saw the cleaning person using this sponge to clean the bathroom sinks. Who knows what else it was used on.

I have been traveling Europe for almost 3 months now in 6 countries and while I have stayed in dirtier places in more disrepair, this has been the most dissatisfying. As someone who is living out of hostels, this place doesn't allow me to live. It's like staying at your annoying aunt's house where you aren't allowed to do anything. Kitchen is closed at 11pm and doesn't open until 8am, but you aren't supposed to keep food in your room... right. How dare you want breakfast before 8am or a snack after 11pm. Want to charge your camera, phone, laptop? Have fun sitting in the hallway watching everyone go to the toilet while it charges unless you feel secure leaving your expensive electronics in the high-traffic area. Then there are the rooms. The 16 bed room is so small, there isn't an inch of extra space. One smelly shoe and I was gassed out choosing to stay up all night (in the hallway with my laptop) rather than sleep in such a congested, stagnant claustrophobic space.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gettingworldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wouldn't have stayed there if there was another choice. This place is relatively the cheapest among the places that are there in Edinburgh.
Though yeah, no power sockets in the rooms, this meant that you would have to wait in line in the lounge or the kitchen to juice up your phone. The kitchen is closed after 2300, so you might end up drinking from the sink after that.
The toilets were alright, though the water was warm rather than hot by any standard.
But when you end up paying less than 15 for a place you go with low expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohdSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's was fine when we got in but when we saw the toilets! I know they were public toilets but the seats broke, there was mould on the showers and it stunk it didn't look as if they even cleaned them. The rooms were ok the carpet wasn't really clean. The beds and bedcovers were fine but the blinds were heriffic they had black all over them. The breakfast was perfectly fine though it was only toast and cereal.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Not hot enough shower ...
Horrible condition in terms of hygiene...
Kitchen closed at 2300 open at 0800... Feel thirsty...XD
No socket for charging in rooms. Need to charge at community area.
Kitchen utility = ok...provide cutlery n free tea & coffee

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsz-Kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

2nd time I have stayed here on cycle rides, this time doing LEJOG! 8 bed room, all facilities including free wifi, and a breakfast for £15! In a major city where a pint at Wetherspoons cost £2.50, that is excellent value. Yes it's a hostel, and you have to remover that but you won't find better for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#32 of 218 in Edinburgh
173 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Argyle Backpackers
#40 of 218 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 218 in Edinburgh
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Address: 3 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland (Formerly Westend Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $19 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing