We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Req lower floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Ranked #106 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Req lower floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed for two nights this is your standard premier in nuts also being refurbished with lifts just being added so if your not the fittest you should ask for a lower floor as their is a few stairs but apart from that it's very good with really helpful staff and great food x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xcgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Xcgt,

Thanks for your review!

We are indeed having a lift fitted just now. In fact, it will be complete by the end of this week. Next time you stay, you won't need to take the stairs... Unless you like the exercise!
I'm glad you liked our team and thank you for saying so. We really appreciate it.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    149
    66
    27
    14
See reviews for
143
178
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our daughter was dancing at Meadowbank stadium early on a Sunday morning and as we're from the North of Scotland we chose to stay overnight, we chose this hotel as it was close by.
We'd recommend this hotel to anyone, the hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is on Willowbrae road which has several buses running past the door into the city centre so after we booked in we abandoned the car and hit the town.
Breakfast was available from 7am at the attached Beefeater so we were able to have a decent breakfast before we had to head to Meadowbank for the competition which started at 8am.
This location is perfect if you're here for sport Meadowbank and Easter road nearby or shopping The city centre is a 10 min bus ride away or the theatre which also a short bus ride away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Martyn B,

Thanks for giving us your thoughts on your stay.

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it, and that it was convenient for you and your family, especially with a dancing competition to plan for. Hope your daughter did well!

We do have a lot of families who choose our hotel for dancing/gymnastics in the area, and many will come back year after year - I hope to see you and your family again at the next competition!

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised with how lovely it was. We chose Premier Inn to free up some more spending money during our trip to Edinburgh and we weren't expecting much; but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - reception staff were very knowledgeable about bus/walking routes in to the centre. The room was very clean and tidy; the shower took a while to warm up as we were on the top floor, but this didn't bother us as we were told on arrival.
Breakfast was brilliant, a great choice on offer and the staff were happy to make more of something if requested.
Recommend to anyone - especially walkers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Hannah W,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm glad you managed to take advantage of some of our great room rates. Sounds like you had a good trip!

It's very nice of you to mention the team and how they helped you. We really do appreciate feedback on our service. I will also be sure to let housekeeping know that you were pleased with your room - they do work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a clean and comfortable stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
545 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

this place looks a little tired and needs a make over. I found my room very small and the TV was at a strange angle to the bed

the room was very dark due to a very high small window
the car park is very tight and when I was there the place was full of large contractors vans
making it even tighter

the staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear phil a,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. As you noticed, we are an older building and some areas seem a little tired. We are working closely with our maintenance teams to improve these areas - our first venture is a brand new lift!

I'm sorry you found your room to be a bit small for your comfort. As we are an older building, our rooms are not completely uniform and whilst we do try to tailor to the needs of our guests and number of occupants, sometimes it comes down to personal preference. That said, if you visit us again, please do let us know if you would prefer to move to an alternative room. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and we are always happy to help.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Visited again mid March. Staff as courteous and helpful as first visit. (Thank you Sam for printing map for our trek across the City, invaluable!
Brilliant breakfast! Great service again.
No lift at the moment so great exercise up 36 steps only paid £35 pound for the room so approx £1 a step! Room was on small side on side of building but it was adequate as visiting City don't stay in room. Agree with other guests about chilly bathroom a heated towel rail would be a good addition.
Location wise - out of town but public transport great, bus stop only yards away.

Room Tip: A room downstairs at present because lift out of order, so check if have mobility problems. Ask ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear anmelia,

Glad to hear you're a returning guest! We do really appreciate when our guests come back again and again.
Sam was very pleased to see that you had mentioned her personally - it really boosts our team spirit.
I'm sorry to hear however that you found your room to be a bit chilly. In future, please pop along to reception and we will be sure to provide a portable heater for you.

Hopefully see you again soon!

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Smaller Premier Inn but still the usual expected high standard for a budget hotel. Had noise issues the first night and on mentioning this, the cost was refunded without quibble. Second night was fine. No complaints overall and although 3 mile outside the City Centre it's on a bus route right outside the front door that take you Princes Street every 5 minutes for £1.50.
Had a few drinks in the bar which were quite reasonably priced for a hotel chain. Will definitely return when next in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Lift is currently being refurbished and is therefore not in use so beware if you have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleJojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear NewcastleJojo78,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had some issues with noise on your first night, but I'm glad to hear you were pleased with the way it was dealt with. We do strive to keep disturbances to a minimum, and I'm sorry that on this occasion we failed to acheive that.
In light of this, we really appreciate your 4 star review!

If you do decide to come and stay with us again, please give us a call before arrival and we will do our best to find you a nice quiet spot.

Kind Regards,

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A very welcoming and comfortable stay and a good location for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding area. Bus service every 10-15 mins from the front of the hotel to the city centre just 15 mins away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghEast, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ian H,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know that you found your stay to be great value! I'm so glad to hear that we were welcoming.
Although we are a little out of the centre, as you pointed out - it really is very easy to hop on a bus and explore.

Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Bex Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Address: 228 Willowbrae Road, Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Portobello Beach, Holyrood Park and the stunning views from Arthur's Seat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing