We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time bad experience with Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Ranked #102 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time bad experience with Premier Inn”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the worst night I ever had with Premier Inn network , I do use them a lot as we have business account with them.
First of all tiny rooms and they do need refurbishment ,could hardly see TV due to it size , was very hot outside and I do understand they do not have air con but when I told them it is extremely hot in my room about 30 degrees Celsius I was told there is fan in my room , when I check it I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry as size of it was just ridiculous and was not giving any air at all! I wasn't even able to fully open window and staff never mentioned that they can unlock them if I want.There is no lift in this hotel I had very heavy bags and it was nightmare to get into 2nd floor.
Food wasn't nice when asked for medium stake I was given one full of blood.
Overall wouldn't recommend to anyone and to be honest I expected more from this hotel after previous experience with them really shame as I will look to change places I am staying in.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can for this price you can get better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    152
    66
    27
    14
See reviews for
144
178
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having previously stayed at this hotel we specifically asked to have a room away from the kitchen's extractor fan - we stayed in room 107 and was reasonably quiet which enabled us to have a good nights sleep. We ate in the restaurant on one night for a family gathering and were well looked after. The only reservation was the loud music played in the bar which made it difficult to hold a conversation.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the kitchen's extractor fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose this Inn as it was close to where friends live, previously we had stayed at the Inn in Leith. Willowbrea Inn is an old stone-built house and our bedroom was musty, possibly through the outside stone attracting moisture and not properly drying out. We could not fault Premier Inn's usual standard of service. We would not go to Willowbrea again, always Leith as we did once again last May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms clean and tidy, staff friendly and food very good. Recommended.

Good location with frequent bus service into Edinburgh, only about a 15min bus ride into city center,

Large car park
Taxi fare around £8 from city.



  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Premier Inn provide a consistent quality throughout all of the hotels we have visited. I was once again part of a 13 strong biking club and from the first contact at Reception to the final checkout we received a professional and courteous service. For what many consider is a budget hotel they surpass our expectations. The receptionist took time to listen to our needs and the bar staff were attentive. The waitress in the restaurant for breakfast was always on hand to help and make sure we were looked after.

Although not normally a problem we were once again allowed to take our bikes into our room overnight. A big help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCMStHelensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here during our tour to Scotland, rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable for stay. Location was great for passengers travelling at airport. I would recommand it for travellers with day journey as its quite relaxing and peaceful.

Good value of money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durgesh_Gujarati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the worst ever hotel as far as Premier inn is concerned. Rooms are cold n there is no lift, away from city centre.. only good thing is there is a tesco next to it..i would not recommend this hotel . pay 10-20 extra and get a better hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Address: 228 Willowbrae Road, Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Portobello Beach, Holyrood Park and the stunning views from Arthur's Seat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing