We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Ranked #33 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Affordable and friendly service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times of the past few years.

I have always been impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the convenient location for the tourist sites and the overall quality of the stay. The rooms have always been spacious and the bed very comfy.

The only comment I will say is learn how to use the air conditioning/ heating if you stay in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    670
    149
    40
    21
See reviews for
498
750
75
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went to Edinburgh for a few days, excellent location everything is in walking distance, warm welcome, clean and tidy. The in room facilities are very good - hairdryer, bath and shower including soaps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I found the room warm, spacious for the price, plenty of hanger space and the bathroom had the luxury of a bath as opposed to a shower only. This meant that I could relax in a hot bath after all the walking of the day and evening. Check in was speedy. Did not eat in the hotel as quite pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a concert. This is a great location and really good for Lothian Road and the Grassmarket (turn left when you come out of hotel). As I'm finding with each new Premier Inn I stay at, the friendly welcome from reception staff makes a refreshing change from some of the pricier hotels I've stayed at recently. I also love how simple, obvious things like the hairdryer being next to a full length mirror with handy plugs for straighteners, are all taken care of!

The bed was huge and very comfy as was the bathroom.

Have already recommended to friends and family and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor and side street - room was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRETA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (Saturday) to go to a concert at the HMV Picture house. This was our first time at a Premier Inn and we weren't disappointed. The chap at reception was very friendly and efficient (ask about parking there are a number of options!). The room was spotless and the bed was enormous and very comfy! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. If I had to find a complaint I'd say that outside noise can be a problem, but this is to be expected in a hotel in the city centre. If you're a heavy sleeper (like my wife!) you'll have no problem. A great, reasonably priced hotel in a central location. We'll be visiting Premier Inns again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you're after a few nights in Edinburgh this is perfect. It's around 5-10 minute walk from the main centre but it's location is perfect for getting around the main sites during the day. At night if you're heading out with family/friends i'd turn left out of the hotel to get to the nightlife. If you turn right you're heading away from the centre and into the "darker" side of the town.

Overall, a good location at a fair price, with very warm and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

No doubt about it, you get that feel when you walk in to reception. The staff are friendly and helpful enough, no issue at all there but the appearance and feel is commensurate with it's market position, 'budget' hotel.

It's secure enough, your room key required to access bedroom floors but you may feel that's required as this hotel is in the red light district. On the plus side, some great pubs and curry houses on the doorstep and the room itself was clean, quiet and comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank George_The_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,261 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 149 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#50 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,167 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot, close to Edinburgh Castle, from which to explore this forward-looking global city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing