We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families with teenagers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights over the October half-term. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable with everything you could want - except toiletries. But then you don't really expect them in a 'reasonably priced' hotel.

We had breakfast and one evening meal in the hotel restaurant. The food was great with plenty of choice and excellent service. The waiters were really friendly and gave us plenty of tips on where to find the best shops and which attractions we might like to visit.

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the main shopping areas and the 'touristy' part of Edinburgh.

The only draw-back is having to leave the car in a car-park in a nearby street. But that didn't really spoil our stay. Brilliant visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brid Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh and staying at this Premier Inn was a large part of it. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate at the hotel both nights as the meal deal on offer was excellent value, there was a large choice of menu and the food was delicious. We had 5 rooms and on asking these were on the same floor. We will certainly be staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMS2534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights over the weekend - family room with 2 teenagers. Contrary to previous post we found the location was fine - not a prostitute in sight!! We always turned left out of entrance past the art college and posh private school, 10 mins walk to shops/restaurants. The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious enough even with a teenager either side of our huge bed!! The beds were a little on the firm side but fine. Staff were friendly and extremely accommodating; breakfast excellent quality and value. Would recccommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not the best Premier InnI have stayed in. Central but next to Red light area. Family room for 4 was tiny - The2 kids beds were touching the double bed in the middle and the walls at the edges You had to crawl up each bed to get into it! Kids beds very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flamingojojo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked this hotel as it is close to the HMV Picture house in Lothian Road where we were going to see Sparks..
Hotel was clean and staff very helpful. The room was just what we needed and had a great nights sleep.
Only down side and this was not he hotels fault a very loudmouthed man with a northern English accent came in after running and his trainers were covered in mud. He then proceeded to take his trainers off and put his dirty feet on the table. Ignorant is all I can say and I hope he reads this!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimB1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have literally just stayed at the Premier Inn, in Lauriston Place Edinburgh . We were a group of 12 people on a long weekend birthday break, and we all had the same opinion that the staff there were tremendous. They were very friendly and easy to talk to. The breakfast staff were really on the ball making sure the breakfast items did not run out and considering the amount of people at the hotel , made sure that everyone was seated quickly. the breakfast buffet was excellent and again well stocked. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable and very large, The hotel is ideally situated to walk to areas within the city - eg city centre , grassmarket , Edinburgh castle ,Frankensteins pub etc. I would definately visit Edinburgh again and would definately use this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 305 at the front side of the hotel. We were impressed with the super king size bed, a real home from home! Room was very clean and bathroom good size and clean. Had a problem with a draughty and noisy air vent which was sorted as best as possible, but the noise from the traffic wasn't good. After asking to be moved, no other rooms were available and so we were refunded as per their 'good night ' pledge. Whilst that was good, we would have preferred a good nights sleep, so come on P.I, just get this noisy room triple glazed!!!
After reading previous comments I was a little hesitant about the strip clubs, but we didn't see any!! The walk to the castle is about 10/15 mins at a leisurely pace.
The staff were all very helpful and polite and it was no problem to store our luggage before and after check in. Was a little concerned that luggage tags weren't checked though!
Breakfast was good and the restaurant is comfortable and has good decor.
We enjoyed our stay and would go again, but not at the front of the hotel as we're not used to traffic noise. Might not bother you if you are near a busy road :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejetsetters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel

Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $65 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot, close to Edinburgh Castle, from which to explore this forward-looking global city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing