We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, comfortable, cozy place to stay in Edinburgh - would definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Ranked #32 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well situated, comfortable, cozy place to stay in Edinburgh - would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Travelling to Edinburgh for the first time with my mum and little brother, I was looking for a safe, centrally located, child friendly place close to all the attractions as this was an impromptu weekend trip. In premier inn, I found all of these and more. Its so conveniently situated close to the city centre and all the enchanting edinburgh attractions that everywhere we wanted to go was only a 15 min walk or a short taxi ride away. The neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful, just like in an alexander m. smith book. The rooms were very nice and clean, they had added an extra bed for my brother in the same room for little extra charge. However,the best part: there is a superb indian restaurant called Gandhi's which we chanced upon, very close to the hotel. If one is too tired after sightseeing, they deliver food to the hotel which was great!
All in all, a good holiday stay and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelista99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    666
    148
    40
    19
See reviews for
487
746
75
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Ideal location, 2 minutes from Grass Market, good rooms, quiet, nice staff. Above all clean and tidy with everything working in the room. Recomend getting a room at far end of corridor to avoid any traffic noise.

Grass market very good for bars, Castle is a must to see at least once, you can get the 100 bus from the airport every 10 minutes, pop into Jenners to see a real department store.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Read some reviews on Lauriston Place on Tripadvisor and booked a 2 night break here. We were not disappointed, the staff on Reception, the bar and the estaurant were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, the restaurant was excellent as well with a very good choice at very reasonable prices including the wine.

I would not hesitate to go back here

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was my first Premier Inn experience. On previous recent visits to Edinburgh, I had stayed at the Novotel next door or at Jury's Inn. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the brand. My room (at the back of the hotel so no road noise) was larger than expected, the bed was really comfortable and it has all the facilities most people would require. Staff at this Premier Inn are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was as good as I've had in much more expensive properties. Didn't sample any other meals, though. For tourists, it's a good location too, within walking distance of most of the sights. As a regular visitor to Edinburgh, I'll use it again.....it does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked this hotel in advance via their website and got a very good price/night. The room was comfortable with free coffee/tea maker in the room, bathroom with tub and free 30 minutes wi-fi every day. The cost of wi-fi/hour is only £3, so it's not bad at all.

The hotel is located within walking distance to almost everything and if you don't feel like walking therea are bus stops nearby. The bus goes to old and new towns but if the weather is nice, I would recommend to walk. There are plenty of nice sights around the hotel.

The only downside I could think of is that the stop of bus from and to airport is a bit far from the hotel (approx. 500m). If I go to Edinburgh again I probably will stay at Premiere Inn Princess Steet eventough it's slighly more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primaully W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Despite having to wait an hour whilst our room was prepared for us whilst dripping wet after a long walk from the station in torrential rain it is the only negative remark I could make about this hotel....... Our room was worth the wait large airy comfortable and clean with a huge bed! Our room was also very quiet being situated at the back of the hotel away from the main road... a definite plus! The bar area was attractive and prices are reasonable and when staff were thin on the ground late on Saturday night William the very amenable night porter stepped into the breach to serve us! Breakfast was superb with something that would suit every taste and with children eating free a real bargain! I only wish our son had been with us!!! All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel location was excellent 5 minutes from the grassmarket but 25/30 minutes walk from the train station. This was a last minute booking and we paid top dollar for our weekend stay but all in all it was still good value. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away fro main road and lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We got a really good price on this hotel and it was well worth it. The room was clean and spacious, the bed and pillows were comfortable, all staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The only slight downside for us was the noise from outside (our room faced the hotel courtyard) where bins were being picked up and there was other banging and crashing quite early in the morning. Also, the hotel is quite central but it is a 10 minute walk to the west side of Princes Street and so we did end up doing a fair bit of walking to see all the sites, and because the weather was so bad had to get a few taxis to and from the hotel which we hadn't bargained on. But that's not the hotel's fault. All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind being slightly out of the centre of things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot, close to Edinburgh Castle, from which to explore this forward-looking global city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing