We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$653
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
372
185
36
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
185
36
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuddie braetrain stationretail parkpub next dooradjoining restaurantattached pubpark ridetrain timesregular trainscity centrebrewers fayregood nights sleepfamily roomreception staffmain roadeasy accessfive minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 623 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Good staff let down as this hotel falls below normal Premier Inn expectations - the furnishings are not worthy of the over priced room charge rates during the Edinburgh festival. A poor experience which tarnishes their image. I would not pay this price again, at this site

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pup609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Hello pub609,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff. The team work very hard to ensure they can assist our guests in any way possible.

I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our newly refurbished rooms. Our new design has taken in to account feedback from our guests so that we can provide the best possible facilities. If you would like to give me some specific details as to what you were unhappy with, I will be happy to forward this on to the design team for future consideration.

As I am sure you can appreciate, Edinburgh City Festival is a very big event in this area and the prices we charge are very competitive compared to prices charged by other hotels. We look to offer our guests great rooms at great value. I apologise if you feel this was not the case and welcome you to call us directly so that we may discuss this further.

We appreciate all feedback from our guests so that we can ensure we are providing the best service that we can and so I thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again at Newcraighall in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel was really good and the staff were very warm and welcoming. Except for the restaurant staff when she was little upset as we asked twice for warm milk for kids. May be she was over loaded with many guest. The train to Edinburg is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The train takes around 15 minutes to reach Edinburg station. You can buy the ticket on the train of when you get down at Edinburg. Edinburg castle and other attractions are only a walk away. Great place to leave your car and visit Edinburg. Return was also smooth. No shops or restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Hello Dssingh,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy to hear that you were happy with the hotel staff. We aim to ensure each of our guests has a wonderful stay with us and we are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure this is the case.

I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the staff in the Cuddie Brae bar and restaurant next door. I will be sure to pass on your comments to their management team. They, like us, appreciate all feedback so that they can improve their service wherever possible.

I am glad you found our location to be ideal for your needs and we hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked online for 2 nights.
We had room 34 on the 2nd (top) floor overlooking the car park
Peaceful nights sleep - no-one above, no traffic noise and carpeted corridors. Apparently the rooms overlooking the train line are affected
Easy to find from the A1, but negotiating Central Edinburgh was trickier, we preferred the 8 minute train journey into Waverley station £3.20 return off peak for our sightseeing. No Sunday service though
Large free car park
Friendly welcome and we were given directions to the train station (5 mins walk away) and a timetable.
The room was immaculate ~ recently refurbished.
Tea & Coffee
Shower Gel
Excellent house-keeping - fresh towels provided on our 2nd day. Good quality bedlinen.
We took breakfast & evening meals in the "Eating Inn" attached - see separate review.
Very Happy and wouldn't hesitate to recommend
Loads of sockets for charging gadgets, sadly only 30 minutes free wi-fi, £3 per 24hrs thereafter

Room Tip: high floor overlooking car park (34) or 36. 38 or 40 further down the corridor
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank willsySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hello WillsySurrey,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a great night’s sleep while staying with us. Our team work very hard to ensure that every measure is taken so that our guests can relax and feel brilliant through a great night’s sleep.

The train station across the road is perfect when trying to avoid driving in the very busy Edinburgh City Centre. It’s cheap, quick and hassle free. I am glad you were able to take advantage of this while you were here.

Our housekeeping manager is thrilled with your feedback regarding her team. They work incredibly hard (in the very hot August weather) to ensure that each of our guests rooms are perfect and cleaned to the highest standard.

Myself, and my team hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh A1 Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We chose the Newcraighall location on a total guess since we knew it would be too busy to stay in the city, especially during the Fringe Festival. Arriving into Edinburgh, we were totally on our own and clueless how to get around at first. We had to take a cab to the hotel since we weren't familiar with the bus system yet. Getting to the hotel seemed to take longer than we expected but that was only because we really had no sense of direction yet. After we got to the hotel, we were greeted by some very friendly ladies, one who was training on her first day. We checked in smoothly and asked about things to do around the city. Both ladies were helpful.
Every time we would come and go, someone would wish us a good day and checking out was as easy as turning in our room cards.

The room was clean, well lit, with a nice bathroom. Great water pressure in the shower. Plenty of towels. Our window opened up too which was nice when it started to rain. It's always a treat to have fresh air. TV was new and large and hung up on the wall. Beds were very comfy and clean. Hotel is conveniently located next to a train station that takes you directly into Edinburgh. For 6 pounds 50, (for 2 people) you can travel roundtrip for the day. Or you can take the bus for 1 pound 50, 3 round trip, and the bus station is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.

One other thing: you are given 30 min of free wifi per day, so use wisely. The city offers lots of free wifi hot spots, so it's not a terrible loss.

I highly recommend this place if you're concerned about city hotel prices and/or want to avoid the crowds. Even though it's a touch out of town, it's definitely worth it to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hello Jessie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and were a help during your first visit to Edinburgh Fringe Festival. We understand that a lot of our guests have never been to Edinburgh before and so we do everything we can to assist with travel information and details on what is going on around the area.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping department who I know will be delighted with your feedback regarding the rooms. They work very hard to make sure the rooms are cleaned to the highest standard and that all of our guests needs are met.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 Newcraighall again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Nickerson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Newcraighall Premier Inn is a great location for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding areas with good train links and easy access to the bypass if your travelling around by car. There is a very good outlet a few minutes walk from the Inn which provides lots of shops and eateries which cater for everything you might need. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with adequate provision of in-room tea and coffee facilities. Good selection of meals for evening at the Cuddie Bray next door. I do have two observances though, there is no in-room safe for safe keeping of valuables and there was no shaver point in the bathroom for gentlemen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews