We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“usual good value for money from premier inn's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“usual good value for money from premier inn's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good standard for premier inn,staff very helpful,rooms recently upgraded to air conditioning in each room.
Pub next door OK for food.
Need a car to access as outside Edinburgh itself.
Restaurant's in nearby musleburgh with a look

Room Tip: Railway line to rear with occasional goods train during night,ask for a front room if this may distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shocks3360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and that you found the rooms to be of a good standard. Please be advised that while we are outside the centre of Edinburgh, we do have a wonderful bus and train service, with the Park and Ride just across the road. Perhaps you will take advantage of this on your next stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    158
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
192
190
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely welcome with plenty of info available.
Shame the free wifi told me my time was up when trying to load a page immediately after signing in though. I had to use my own mobile internet, but all in all nothing to complain about :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingnanaof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of our hotel. I am so glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are always happy to provide information regarding the local area, transport and anything else we can help with. I am sorry to hear you had a problem using our wifi. Please in future feel free to contact us at reception and we will be moe than happy to assist you. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staff very helpful when we arrived.Ask for details about visiting Edinburgh,they will give you a printed fact sheet.
Room was ok,new heater/air conditioning has just been installed.However the shower was faulty & the room was not cleaned properly on one of the 3 days, workmen were still on site installing the heating but this was no problem for us.We were unlucky having a room next to reception which was noisey with people walking past banging the door but this again did not spoil a great stay in this premier inn.
Left car in car park & took a 200 yard walk to the railway station where for £3.80 you can get a day return ticket directly into the center of Edinburgh 4 miles away.
Pub next to the premier inn at Newgraighall was very good, it was not just pub grub,
we will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickbustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Well firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were having problems with your shower. In future, please advise reception of any problems immediatey and we will arrange any maintenence required or arrange a room move if possible. I am also disappointed to hear that you have negative feedback regarding our housekeeping team. We aim to clean our rooms to the highest standard and so this is not usual practice for us. I will be sure to pass on this feedback to my team.

I am thrilled that you found our staff so helpful. We are always happy to provide as much travel information as possible to make your exploration as simple as we can. I will also pass on your kind feedback regarding the Cuddie Brae next door. Im sure they will be delighted.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and please feel free to call ahead of your arrival to request a room in a specific part of the hotel, as we will be happy to assist wherever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

If youve been to any Premier Inn you will have no suprises here, standard clean room with good shower (must say the best pressure on a hotel shower ive ever had!). I travel a lot and stay in hotels and like a hotel with more character, so maybe a little harsh in this review.
PROS - friendly staff, ample parking, clean rooms, good cleaners, comfortable beds, quite location, bar nextdoor. CONS - Hotel in need of refurb, front desk not always staffed (just a doorbell), no phones in rooms, charge for wifi (free for 30mins).

Room Tip: rooms to rear have view of freight trains passing however windows are triple glazed so rarely wake y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the shower in your room and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. I am also happy to hear that you have such positive feedback regarding the staff. We try to be as helpful and friendly as possible and are always happy to assist in any way we can.

I apologise if you felt there was not always a staff member available to you. The reception desk is manned 24 hours a day, however when another guest requires assistance, this often requires us to leave the desk for a time. The buzzer is merely an indicator that we are erquired back at reception straight away and aim to return as soon as possible.

I hope this has not discouraged you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in a good location just off A1, ideal for visiting Edinburgh and surrounding area. Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel was very clean. Brewers Fayre next door, excellent breakfast from 6.30 to 10.30 (great if you want a lay in! ). All round good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliNorthLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am so happy you have taken the time to post your review of our hotel. Im glad you found our location ideal for your exploratory needs and will pass on your kind words to the Cuddie Brae restaurant and bar next door. Im sure they will be thrilled with your comments.

I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. During your next visit, please feel free to approach us with any questions or requests as we will be more than happy to help wherever possible.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in March. Asked for high room . Room was lovely and bright very large and spacious. Only gripe remote control set at 25 bit to low for me.

Great friendly staff, and lovely food served next door in The Cuddy Brae very good menu . Special menu is very good value for money , food was yummy you are spoiled for choice.

Parking a bit tight due to people parking that were using the health club next door .
And work vans taking up lots if spaces, as on going refurb going on.

I thought it was really fresh and surprised getting refurbished.

Very close to great road connections .
Did hear a little bit of train noise but not to bad.

Would stay here again no problem lovely and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. First of all I apologise if the volume of your tv was not to the level that you like. We ensure all tv volumes are capped so as to not disrupt any of our guests throughout the night.

I am very happy to hear that you have such high regard for our staff. We aim to assist our guests as much as possible and are always happy to deal with any additional requests our guests may have.

I agree, the Cuddie Brae have a wonderful menu and they will be thrilled to hear your glowing review.

Our housekeeping team will also be happy to hear that you were happy with their standards.

We hope to welcome you back to Newcraighall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great value hotel, very helpful and pleasant staff, it does what it says on the tin, ideal for those wanting to travel into Edinburgh town centre due to the close proximity of the train, only a 10 minute journey and the added bonus is the Cuddy Brae pub attached to the Premier Inn as the food is fantastic, the staff and service are second to none and the whole experience is great value for money, i can't say enough good things about the experience we had, we always stay there when visiting family.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are good, same standard, same cleanliness and same comfort factor. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
First of all, please accept my thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated. I am very happy to hear that you found our staff pleasant and helpful. Our staff try to assist with any queries and requests to the best of their abilities and I'm thrilled that your needs were met. I am also glad to hear that you took advantage of the convenient travel options available. It is very handy having the train station walking distance from the hotel and is such a quick journey that ut makes all trips to the centre of Edinburgh quick and comfortable. I will also pass on your lovely comments in regard to the Cuddie Brae. They will be very appreciative of your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing