We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #26 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Ideal for visiting Edinburgh though be aware that Newcraighall station doesn't have a booking office!

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a freight railway line at the back of the hotel along which run early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibis_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    166
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
208
201
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Friendly services,clean room,more than what u expect for a budget hotel,superb

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we surpassed your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights recently, we were visiting family in Edinburgh and awaiting our first grandchild. Staff at the Premier Inn were lovely, really friendly and helpful. We ate 3 nights in the Cuddie Brae and the meals were lovely and good value We were allocated a disabled room at the front of the hotel and it was very quiet.. On the day we were leaving we were told we could stay in the room till 2 o'clock as my daughter in law was in labour which was very helpful of them. We now have a lovely grandaughter and will be back at the premier inn in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeggieLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and that we could be of help to you, also congratulations on the birth of your grandaughter

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We recently travelled to Edinburgh for our first visit choosing this time to experience the Christmas fair and markets. We selected the Newcraighall hotel for its proximity to the train station which enabled travel into the city without taking the car, trains every 30 mins during the day (none on Sunday but buses stop outside) and a journey time of 8 minutes.
On arrival at the Premier Inn we were given a warm friendly welcome and check in was fast and efficient, we were allocated a room on the first floor at the back of the hotel, the room was bigger than we expected and furnished to a very high standard with king size bed, it was immaculately clean and the pillows for the bed were nice and soft, extra pillows already in the room.
On our first night as we had arrived late in the afternoon we had dinner in the hotel restaurant, the menu had a good selection and the food was OK, my partner selected a pasta dish and this was not very warm and had to be sent back but it served the purpose and meant we did not have to venture out after our journey.
The following day was spent in the city and after returning to the hotel to shower and change we returned and chose an Italian restaurant for dinner which was excellent, be aware that the trains go to hourly service in the evening the last one departing at 2315.
Next day we had a trip out in the car - first stop to find our eating venue for the evening - an Indian restaurant recommended to us by one of the reception staff who told us he was a frequent customer - Bonoful Restaurant in Portobello a little town less than 3 miles from the hotel, having identified the location we drove a little way and found that the town has a lovely seashore, quite deserted due to the season but apparently very busy in season according to a local resident, also excellent views across the Firth of Forth and Berwick. We then drove on to Leith and saw the Royal Yacht Britannia (from Debenhams restaurant windows!) and other interesting vessels in the harbour, from there we went to South Queensferry to see the road and rail bridges across the Forth, the rail bridge is a spectacular engineering feat. We returned to the hotel and in the evening drove to the Indian restaurant, we were not disappointed the food was excellent and at a reasonable price with meals on the menu which we have not seen elsewhere, the staff were attentive without being intrusive there were only ourselves and six other diners but the weather was atrocious, but we did not regret turning out and will return on our next visit to Edinburgh.
The following morning we checked out leaving the car at the hotel and having a last trip into the city to purchase some of the wonderful food at Crombies Butchers, we cannot resist quality sausages from traditional butchers together with some Scotch pies and a home made Steak pie for tea when we got home!
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and polite a credit to their employers they are knowledgeable about the area and nothing too much trouble, special thanks to Claire who helped with several enquiries, we have stayed at another budget hotel several times before but now will always use Premier Inn as there is no comparison.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with the train line behind we were not unduly disturbed despite sleeping w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashirerover H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review of our hotel!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and that you enjoyed also the recommendations made to you.

I have ensured your comments have been passed on to our staff and also to Claire.

Thank you once again, we hope to see you in the future!

Kind regards,
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 2 year old. Although it is out of the city centre, this was not a problem at all. The train station opposite the hotel was absolutely brilliant with trains running every half hour into the city. The breakfasts were lovely including the real scottish porridge. We were on the back of the hotel with the rail line directly under our window, but it was not noisy at all. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here, good clean rooms, good value and great location, straight off the A1 and convenient for the train into Edinburgh.
Went to Edinburgh for the Christmas market etc but too busy, could not even get to the market stalls because of the number of people, it was also very difficult to find a restaurant that was not full so we decided to eat back at the hotel, very good evening meal and breakfast, staff very polite and friendly. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrsvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your Kind Review of our hotel,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you again in 2012

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was just (ment to be) a stop over on returning form hoilday.

We where welcomed by a lovly scottish smile and a warm reception. Check in was smooth, told about all the local transport options and near by eataries ect. Was given a ground floor room on request and the staff even went along to turn the heating on whist we got our bags out the car! - lovley touch! The room was very nice, LARGE bed with flat screan TV, bath & shower! pluss tea & coffee to hand aswell.

The morning we where due to check out we decided to go for a bit of shopping, we were pointed in the direction of the FORT retail park, just minites away form the hotel, this park is HUGE.

We came back to the hotel for check out at 12 and again greeted with a warm smile and questions on our day, we had planned to getting the train home but decided to stay another night wich the gentelman was more than helpfull moving things about so we could keep the same room.

This time we ate in the restaurant wich was OK, nice food, warm atmisphpser but very overpriced. Breakfast was standered Premier Inn with all the trimmings.

Overall fantastic welcome to scotland and great hotel with well trained staff!

Room Tip: Was told there was a railway line on check in, so if this bothers you, stay on the car park end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will ensure they are passed on.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
12.3 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing