We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine on Leith”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent hotel for easy access into Edinburgh centre. No worries for parking up free, allowing short bus trip or taxi. Superb restaurant with great food and service and the prices wont hurt either. We had a room looking over the Forth towards the iconic rail bridge which was brilliant to waken up to in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you JIMC for a 5 star rating and lovely review.

The team are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us in Edinburgh. We are fortunate to have such wonderful sea views to be able to offer our guests, and I am pleased that your visit was no exception. The team really appreciate the reviews from our guests and we are pleased you found our rooms modern, clean, comfortable and great value for money. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,339 - 1,345 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Only stayed here because no other rooms in other hotels at this weekend (rugby!). Room was clean and usual Premier Inn standard but extremely cold with feeble heating! It cost an absolute fortune in taxi's to and from the hotel to the city centre so avoid it if you are on a budget. Ruined this stay. Brewers Fayre next to the hotel was full and lacked bar staff - breakfast luke warm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz691952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

the hotel itself was quite good but the attached restaurant was very disappointing and made the overall experience less than satisfactory. I was not greeted on arrival in the restaurant but left to find my own way and work out what system was in operation. I found myself standing lime a spare part in a crowded noisy and chaotic restaurant and although I had booked a table, no-one thought to ask me about that but squashed me in a corner next to a very large party of diners. The food was only average. I could not wait to escape!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you David F for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to apologise for your disappointing time in the Brewers Fayre. I will pass your comments to the restaurant's manager, so your bad experience is not repeated again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

excellent value for money,great friendly hotel,lovely staff,close enough for bus ride to edinburgh or for a quiet weekend away from it all.nice place to eat attached to hotel,nice place to have an early morning walk around the fishing harbour


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your time to review your stay with us, Martyn W. We are so pleased that you found our hotel friendly and you enjoyed your quite weekend. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Premier Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel is out of centre of Edinburgh by the waterfront at Newhaven harbour. However Edinburgh has a great bus system so if you are coming by car - leave it at the hotel and take the bus into town. Number 11 passes the door and takes you up to Princes Street. Royal Yacht Britannia and Ocean Terminal shopping centre @10 minutes walk away. If you don't want to eat at the hotel - although it did look great for families, we were looking for something a little more upmarket - there is the Loch Fyne Seafood restaurant next door.

Hotel was excellent value for money and had everything needed for a comfortable no frills stay. I don't like hotel beds but this was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Choice of hard and soft pillows very welcome. Loved the towel shaped as a dog on the bed! If you were staying more than one day try to get a room with view of Firth of Forth. Cheaper and quieter than staying in centre of the city, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views over the Firth of Forth.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peediequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. The team are very touched to know you had everything you needed and found them helpful throughout your stay. Our dog shaped towels are our own little gesture to our guests that are arriving with young children, We are delighted to know that this is also working well for our little guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've given a qualified 5 stars based on the fact that having paid only £35 this was v.g value but there are general pluses aplenty. I called the day before arrival with a query and found the lady who dealt with it to be friendly, efficient and accommodating. On arrival the lady on reception ( sorry, we didn't get your name) was equally friendly, welcoming and happy to give advice. In fact, all of the staff we encountered were like that. Premier Inns are basic but comfortable - this one was spotlessly clean and, unless you want to be in the city centre, well placed - £1.50pp on bus to Princes St, roughly £9 for taxi back :( Short walk to Brittania and good eateries onCommercial St ( don't check Street View, you enter from behind the buildings). Only down side to our stay at this Prem Inn was we didn't get a sea view (which some rooms enjoy) but no complaint from us.

Room Tip: Sea view is a plus. Some rooms can be a bit of a trek from reception.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you Hamish D for taking the time to leave such positive feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to our housekeeping team who will be pleased to hear that you were delighted with the cleanliness of our hotel. I will also pass your comments on to our reception team who will be equally pleased to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here or 2 nights and I cannot fault it. Although the hotel is not right in the city centre, we actually preferred being a little further out. There are buses that come every 15 minutes right outside of the hotel which get you to the city in about 10 minutes. The parking is free and there is a 24 hour ASDA right nearby. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the room was very clean with everything needed - kettle, TV, bath and very comfortable beds! The view from our room was absolutely stunning- right on the waterfront (see the pic I've uploaded). We had breakfast on both mornings, and we were very glad that we did! The food was very good and there was an excellent selection including full English breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, juice and tea and coffee. There was plenty of food available and lots of space.
We were very glad to have stayed at this hotel as opposed to one right in the centre as we felt that we had the best of both worlds with the gorgeous relaxing hotel location and the nearby busy city centre. I have stayed in many Premier Inns but feel that this was the best one so far for me. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAGABONDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and share some wonderful photographs. We are pleased you were able to experience the wonderful views of the harbour from the comfort of your clean room. The team were thrilled that you found them helpful and you will be definitely returning to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
4.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel

Address: 51-53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to sweeping harbourside views before hopping in a bus or taxi straight into town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing