We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, cozy guesthouse in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #18 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, cozy guesthouse in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I enjoyed spending 4 nights in Edinburgh at St. Valery Guest house. The hosts were very helpful and kind, the room was very cozy, clean, quiet and the ceilings were very tall - which I loved.

The place is located very centrally - 2 min walking distance from Haymarket station, minutes away from various pubs and cafes and about 20-30 min walking distance to the castle.

I hope to be back in the beautiful city of Edinburgh at stay at St. Valery again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowflakeRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    143
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
108
142
55
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

When I first arrived and saw the bed, I thought I was going to be disappointed as I have recently spoiled myself with Queen and King sized. I was wrong! The bed was comfortable, and while on the smaller side, the room provided a wonderful place to relax and plan my day. There was a fridge, a water boiler, and complimentary cookies. They also provided a few brochures and a list of local attractions that were quite helpful.

Breakfast is included in the price, and is billed as a Scottish breakfast. You can choose from 3 different juices, tea/coffee, 4 different cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, and the selection they cook for you (eggs, bacon, beans and tomato). It was a great way to start a day of exploring!

The location, while a bit outside the tourist attraction area, was still within walking distance of them. It was also conveniently located to Haymarket Station and the Airport Link bus. Definitely on the top of my list for places to stay in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This guesthouse has a good location in Edinburgh, all the main sites are within walking distance.
The guesthouse and the room are very well decorated. The breakfast was very good and there is a helpful staff.
Yet, the bathroom was a bit cold (only one heater in the room) and the bed a bit old.
In total it was a very good experience and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauParis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location could not have been much better. I was coming in around 7 pm at Haymarket Station and leaving the next morning for the airport, and it was an easy walk from the station and to the airport bus, even with a heavy non-roller bag. It's also a nice stroll to restaurants (and the desk gave me helpful recommendations) and Charlotte Square through some lovely streets. The welcome was pleasant and efficient. Now, alas, for the negatives. My room, in the basement, was musty; I expect floor carpeting on that lower level is not the best idea although it probably keeps the noise down. I was able to open the window and air it out reasonably well although the bathroom stayed a little smelly. I will note that I am sensitive to odors so it might not bother some folks. Room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. As for breakfast, don't get the eggs! They must have been powdered or otherwise very remote from any chicken. I couldn't eat them, and I can eat about anything. So, for one night, perfectly fine, but I wouldn't want to stay for a number of days, at least not in the basement rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement if you have any issues with mustiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A fantastic Victorian home just in the outskirts of the core of Edinburgh with the Haymarket train station about a block away. There is a great little sandwich café at the end of the street, Tesco right around the corner and Greek Italian fish and chip shop in front of the train station.
The area was a little congested with the work going on for the new tram service but that should be cleared up soon.
Our stay was pleasant and very quiet and the service was wonderful. I would stay here again if ever in Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: Lower floors for those who have trouble climbing stairs would be smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely weekend stay in St Valery. Looked after very well by Jim and Caroline.
Accommodation offered everything we needed. Particularly impressed with a very hot powerful shower! Room was very quiet and we slept like logs.
Had to vacate premises by 10am on day of departure but we were able to leave our luggage as our flight home wasn't until 8.30pm. Told to avail of the drinks machine in the dining room before we left for the airport. A lovely touch. Wil definitely stay there again....despite the early starts for breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandradww46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our four nights here. Almost everything was included: there was a comprehensive breakfast, towels and toiletries were provided and the room cleaned every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our toilet was in a separate room but that was no problem for a few days. The city centre is fairly close by foot but there is also a bus stop just down the road. The airlink bus to the airport also stops close by.
Altogether, this is a great place to stay, especially if you prefer a more personal and individual place to the sterile atmosphere of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabba3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Property: St. Valery Guest House
Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing