We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay - above average but not yet "very good"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #18 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Toelz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one night stay - above average but not yet "very good"”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent our last night before take-off from Edinburgh in ST Valery Guest House. It is ideally located to the city centre (walking distance), and in a good neighbourhood. Though we came only around nine p.m. they were waiting for us before retiring. The room as such was old-fashioned but nice, only the bathroom very little and with typical low standard you find on the isle a lot.
I would have wished to get more help parking the car (directions to a car park or similar), as we eventually ended up getting a 30 Pound parking ticket, because we could not come back exactly after the max four hours of stay to get another ticket. As to the rest, it could be MUCH worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isar83646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    146
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
112
148
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights in July in St Valery Guest House. We were welcomed by Mr James who showed us to our room and invited us to the dining room - done in light colour wood. We were offered all kinds of coffee or tea, juice, milk, yoghurt and fruits and were invited to come and drink whenever we like. The en-suite room was very spacious, with very comfortable beds, wardrobe, fridge and resting area with armchairs and a low table. Although it was July and the weather was quite nice the owner offered us to turn on the heating in case we felt cold. The traditional Scottish breakfast was very tasty and promptly served. Additionally there was a great selection of cereals, fruits, jams, honey and of course a selection of teas, coffees, juices and milk. There is wifi in all the hotel and additionally there is 24 hours access to a free of charge computer with fast running internet and in case you need it a printer.
The location of St Valery is more than perfect. It is in a very quiet area but only 3 minutes walking distance from Haymarket Train Station, 20-25 min to Waverly Train Station and Waverly Bridge with Hop on hop off buses and Lothian buses.
Mr. James is the man you dream about to meet when you travel. He was concerned, helpful, knowing Edinburgh and its surroundings and eager to recommend the places worth visiting. Thanks to his advice we visited the amazing Falkirk wheel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the worst experience ever in this guest house and were deeply offended by their insincerity and attitude during our stay in Edinburgh from 9th-11th August 2013.
We do NOT recommend this guest house AT ALL and we seriously hope this review will help you avoid such a horrible memory like ours.

What happened:
1. We arrived around 14:00 but they did not have our reservation for two nights because of miscommunication between Hotels.com using their facsimile. We had shown the manager at the reception our two confirmation e-mails printed out: one mentions even "There is NO NEED TO RECONFIRM your booking", which of course is enough for us to have believed our booking were successfully made. The manager made us wait for 1.5 HOUR with heavy luggage to check all the booking lists he'd got. He didn't find our reservation.

2. Luckily there was only one room left we could stay there for the first day but it was fully booked on the second one. The manager told us he'd find an alternative accommodation for us for the second night as it's his job and the obligation of the guest house - obviously, it was! He even showed no sign of remorse! Not being in hurry at all even though he's making his guests wait nearly for 2 hours, he called three hotels nearby in front of us asking whether there were any available rooms left; they were fully booked too. We started feeling very worried by the situation because it was the popular festival season and could imagine there were not as many availabilities as usual in hotels in Edinburgh.

3. After 3 hours, 4 hours, 5 hours, surprisingly, the guest house eventually did not solve the problem or try to compensate us; even gave up trying and asked us to book an accommodation left BY OURSELVES after he insisted that he'd spent his whole afternoon already to find any alternative one but could not. Furthermore, he started excusing "IT'S NOT MY FAULT, IT'S Hotels.com's FAULT" repeatedly adding that the owners were on holiday and he'd done everything he could for us. He could not reach them on the phone and we also did not hear from them at all since this nightmare had started. Most of all, still NO WORDS FOR APOLOGIES!!!

4. As we clearly figured out it's such a waste of time trying to make the irresponsible and useless manager carry out his duty, we ended up searching for a room available in the nearby hotel in the city and booked it by ourselves, it cost lot more than this guest house; it was already around 11:30PM and we had no choice to book it otherwise we would not be able to find any. Actually there were only few rooms left in 4 or 5 star hotels which would cost about GBP 400 at least per night at the last minute. As everyone can see, the guest house should have done all this booking only by using the internet, which the manager asserted they had only phone but no computer, just as we could manage it by our smartphones!!!
In the end, it was 0:00AM when we had set everything by ourselves for the next accommodation with NO HELP from them; we're extremely stressed and exhausted and had no energy to enjoy our sightseeing.

5. Ultimately, NO WORDS FOR APOLOGIES AT ALL BUT ONLY EXCUSES saying "IT"S NOT OUR FAULT!" from the beginning to the end till we left the guest house. The manager even DID NOT APPEAR WHEN WE CHECKED OUT. It was so hard to believe and we could not help understanding that he is out of his mind.

It is obvious that they were so UNPROFESSIONAL, DISAPPOINTING and surely NOT ENTITLED for the beautiful certificates stating "4 stars" and "3 stars" proudly hung on their wall; what they have done with no compensation to us was ridiculously insolent.

At the end of the day, THEY NEVER CARE if two female guests spend a cold night desperately sleeping outside of their guest house all because of their mistake as long as they're fully booked and get money by others on that time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The building has been very well redecorated so it is quite impressive to look at.

We were fortunate to get one of the huge rooms, it was the same size and directly over the dining room. What we found strange was that so much had obviously been spent on the house - except the bathroom which was small and looked like a home handy man renovation. Due to the design and poor workmanship, the shower had quite a lot of mould. Carpets were not as clean as some we have seen.

Windows open wide for good air flow, but when open the rattle in the wind :-(

Breakfast was great - well cooked and plenty of it. 24 tea and coffee from machine in dining room

Service was excellent and very friendly.

30min walk to Edinburgh Castle - 6 min to airport bus - and other buses. If you are buying tickets on the Hop on Hop off buses, you can get on them at Lothian Street which is halfway into town - and catch another one back in the afternoon - jut check which ones are going in which direction.

Overall, quite pleasant and functional. Convenient if you don't mind walking - we averaged 14km a day while in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: As for one of the large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very basic guest house, large 3p room, one single and one double-bed
Great breakfast (they come and ask you how to do your eggs)
Location near Haymarket-station (also bus Airlink 100 directly to the airport), with a small problem which is called the Tramline that is being created. In front of the station everything is "under construction"
You can even walk to Murrayfield-stadium (about 1 mile)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This looks like a place where only a family runs everything and it is clear that they need some external help because they are clearly having a hard time keeping up with the cleaning. They are very nice people and they do their best to make you feel at home however, the room we stayed was full of crumbs, flying dust balls in the bathroom and dirt on the carpets which could easily be sucked up by a quick hoovering.
We never bothered with the breakfast as nothing was clean on the cutlery and crockery side, the location and the size of the rooms are very good but you just never have the feeling that all is clean, which leaves you with a unpleasant feeling when you put your head on the pillows.
I would stay elsewhere in Edinburgh next time.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back garden, the road may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night here. Our welcome from James couldn't have been better. The guest house is ideally situated for exploring Edinburgh - just a couple of hundred meres from Haymarket station (and the new trams, when they are completed), and about 20 minutes walk from Princes Street. The building is in an old Georgian/Victorian terrace and the rooms have the high ceilings and large windows typical of these, so the rooms feel big and airy.
First of all the excellent extras - free internet access, either WiFi or using a guest desktop in the breakfast room. Also the free coffee machines in the breakfast room, which are available for espressos, lattes hot chocolate etc. 24/7.
Breakfast was good, and plentiful.
Now for the slight negatives - parking locally is either resident only permit zones or Pay and Display bays, with a maximum 4 hour stay, and the parking wardens are assiduous. The bathroom for our room was a little small.

Room Tip: Room 3 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Property: St. Valery Guest House
Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing