We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Valery Guest House
Ranked #16 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would Just like to say that the trip I had in Edbrough was fantastic and really Enjoyed my stay at st Valerys! The accommodation was central the accommodation was spotless clean and tidy and the room was a great size. We stayed in was great and decorated lovely. The staff were lovely and friendly. It was beautiful georgian house.

Room Tip: Room 4 is lovely and peaceful and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 491 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for three nights last week and thought it was excellent. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms were well appointed. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room rather than the measly two teabags you often get, and the room had everything I wanted - TV, clock-radio, hairdryer, wifi etc and was decorated to a high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was near enough to the city centre to walk (about twenty minute walk) but far enough out that it was not noisy at night. Haymarket station is close by which runs trains to the centre every few minutes. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there next time I am in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stay here each week from Mon-Wed/Thurs. The staff are excellent, the rooms clean, the location great for walking to most places. I highly recommend it. Haymarket rail station is only a few minutes walk away, the taxi rank is on the way, and there are buses to/from the airport close by too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietest, though the road at the front is not that busy so no real problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the St Valery Guest House.
A lovely Georgian guest house located not far out from the city centre. We arrived in the evening & got the bus from the airport. The road where the guest house is literally around the corner from the bus stop-excellent after an afternoon of travelling. Friendly owners & staff. We had a room on the top floor. Overlooking the road, although traffic noise at night wasn't an issue for us.
Teas & coffees from the dining room were unlimitted all day. Good choice of cooked breakfast items. Fruit, yogurt & toast also available.
A slight drawback was that the guesthouse was that it is a good 25 minute walk from the main center. Not a problem for us, but for those who like to fall out of bed into the city, may want to look for something nearer.
Overall, I would stay again here. Reasonable price for comfy & homely accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely old house, with a touch of luxury. Staff very attentive. Nice big room with free wifi. Good breakfast, and excellent value. They were knowledgeable about the local area, and assisted with luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What can I say but a very big thank you from me, my wife and our two kids. We arrived on Tuesday morning to a very warm welcome. Shown to our family room on the 1st floor which was huge and spotlessly clean. The St Valery staff make you feel like you are family nothing is too much trouble. Our children are aged 4 and 10 , the staff suggested that if we were struggling to find suitable eating venues in the evening then why not buy meals from Tesco (round the corner and microwave them in their kitchen) The Breakfast sets you up for the day choice was great.
we arrived at Edinburgh airport and with 20 minutes we were In The St Valery the airlink 100 offers an almost door to door service £11.00 for a family of four.
A two minute walk takes you to the Haymarket and from there we used the excellent bus service into the city about a 5 minute bus ride. We took advantage of the day tickets on the buses £11.00 for a family of four.
We got back last night at midnight and are now planning a return trip.

Would highly recommend this guest house friendly staff ideally located in a quiet residental area convienent for everywhere

Room Tip: From what we saw all the rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay here,very friendly and helpful staff,nothing was to much bother for them,rooms very clean and nicely decorated,we had a really nice breakfast which set you up for the day and you could help yourself to tea or coffee throughout the day.it also has an excellent location,within walking distance to everywhere you would want to visit if you are like us visiting Edinburgh for the first time.we would stay here again on our next visit.we loved Edinburgh

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddiealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,134 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Valery Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Valery Guest House

Address: Haymarket 36 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $60 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Valery Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your St. Valery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Valery Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
St. Valery Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing