We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
61
38
10
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
38
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for nightswould stay here againcomfortable bedspubsfringe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 115 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Smiths' Guest House is in a convenient location, close to restaurants and public transportation. For the price, I think it is a great deal. The owner is very friendly and makes great eggs. The room and bathroom is clean. I would definitely recommend and would probably stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tulipviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

1. 40min walk into Edinburgh
2. Proprietor is very informative
3. Large breakfast. Between 8am to 9am.
4. Very very uncomfortable beds & pillows.
5. Small twin bedroom. No seating area other than on our beds or 1 chair in our room.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank marezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2016

I had a cosy, well appointed room on the top floor. The owner greeted me warmly so I felt at home from the get go. This was the first time I'd stayed in a B&B/guest house for years but it went very well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

just come back after a 4 night stay. The location is good, about 30 minute walk into the city centre if you don't mind walking. Lots of cafes and eateries on the way if you want to break the journey. The bus stop is just across the road if you prefer to take the bus. The guest house we found to be comfortable with all the basics you need. It was clean and well presented. Plenty to eat at breakfast and kept us going until lunchtime. The Smiths were great and very helpful. Would stay here again

Room Tip: had a twin room at the back which was quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

A very nice guest house within a walking distance from Arthur's Chair and the older parts of Edinburgh. The 25 mins walk does not only reduce the room's price - it is indeed a joy in itself - as it is full with small restaurants, bars, cafes, 2nd-hand and antique stores as well as ethnic places. the rooms are beautiful and clean and breakfast is great. The only thing that was a bit messy to handle was the shower - boiling water that was hard to control.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book the family room - it is placed in the best part f the building.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anonymus688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews