We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay: clean, friendly, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths' Guest House
Ranked #162 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a great stay at Smith's recently. The room was very clean and comfortable, with every you need including towels, shower gel, tea and coffee. The breakfast was good and freshly cooked and the service overall was excellent. Also excellent value. Ask to meet the dog! Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicovisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great bus routes to city centre and zoo from one street over. Numbers 31,37 to centre and 26 to centre and zoo.
Clean room and always tidied when we asked. Great en suite bathroom with good shower.
Overall excellent stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orwinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this Guest House based on cost and its proximity to the city centre, and I'd definately say it was value for money. If you're expecting a 5* hotel then you might want to look elsewhere. Considering that myself and a friend paid less than £30 per night including breakfast, I was not expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised.

After booking, we realised that we would be arriving after the check-in hours. We sent an e-mail and received a prompt reply, saying that it was no bother and advising of alternative arrangements. All other e-mails were also very helpful and friendly.

When we arrived we were pleased with our room. As others have pointed out, the rooms aren't massive, but again, you get what you pay for and at £30 a night I wouldn't have expected this. However, the room was clean and had all of the things we needed for a three night stay: TV, tea/coffee, ensuite, wi-fi etc.

Breakfast was nice and didn't take long to come out, but then we were left to enjoy our breakfast for as long as we needed without feeling rushed.

You could walk to the city centre although, as we were visiting for the marathon, we decided to use public transport. There's a couple of bus stops within very short walking distance, and we found the service to be very good, even on Sundays/Bank Holidays. We also took a taxi from Waverley which cost us around £8.

Neil is a friendly and helpful chap who made us feel very welcome. We both said that, if we were back in Edinburgh, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not a bad place but the rooms are small and cramped and the street parking in the area is not good. The showers are great, even on the top floor and breakfast is good but serving hours are very limited.



I will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the top floor are up steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank futsanglung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A perfect little guest house within very easy reach of the town centre- we walked there most days. Yes some rooms may be small but that adds to the cosy feel of the place. In addition the owner is extremely friendly and welcoming and breakfasts delicious. We would 100% stay here again on any returning trips to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in a number of various hotels and B&B in Edinburgh during last 8 years of my business trips. This one is one of the best. I stayed there twice and will come again for sure.

The best phrase for this B&B is "great value". Basically it's the best service you cna get for low cost.
Rooms offer somewhat little but enough space, but are clean, have en-suit bathrooms with showers, tv. Basic stuff - I don't need anything more. Overall decoration is somewhat rustic (old style).

The host is very friendly - can give you good tips on local trips. He cooks very good Scottish breakfast. You can have a choice of other things for breakfast (cereals, fruit) as well.

Location is in the south of Edinburgh, but not far from the Centre (25 min. walk), Arthur's Seat or the Braids. It's by the road but traffic is not that big.
There's plenty of buses going to the center - 1 min. walk to bus stop

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwiech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The accommodation was clean and has obviously been newly decorated which is the exact opposite of what a previous review says so I thought I’d write this review and include pictures as well to update Tripadvisor readers.

The en-suite shower room looked brand new, plenty of hot water pressure and the towels were really soft. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms along with flat screen TV, hair-dryer and plenty of power points. WiFi is available free.

Neil is a naturally friendly chap and gave a warm welcome with lots of info on places to go and see as well as the local pubs and restaurants. Ask to see Torin who is an absolute bear of a dog and equally as friendly as his owner.

It was very good value for money and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths' Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths' Guest House

Address: 77 Mayfield Rd., Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $83 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths' Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths` Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Smiths' Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing