We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiths' Guest House
Ranked #155 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Had a single room with my own private bathroom across the landing.
Very handy for the bus routes to Edinburgh city centre. Busses every few few minutes and
a short trip into town. Missed breakfast but it smelled lovely coming up the stairs. I would book
Smith's again

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MartinGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I (22 and 25 years old) stayed here on Friday 4th November 2011, I have only just remembered to write a review. We had chosen the smith's guest house from late rooms, which was £50 for the night with breakfast included. We were going through to Edinburgh from Glasgow for the James Morrison concert that night, however due to James being ill, the concert was cancelled and rescheduled, however as it was short notice we could not cancel the booking at Smith's so decided to go through anyway and have a night out in Edinburgh!

**First impressions**
Our first impressions was that it was easy to find, right on Mayfield Road and I parked my car just off Mayfield road, to the right of Smith's. My car was fine, quite a tight street but got parked fine. We then proceeded to go in, and were met by a very cheery Neil. We were then told that our room would be ready soon and if we wanted to leave our luggage in the lounge, it would be taken up for us. We were in an en-suite double room, can't remember which number now but it was up both sets of stairs. We left our luggage with Neil and went a walk into the centre of Edinburgh, which was about a 25-30 minute walk. We had to ask people for directions as it is not entirely clear if you dont know Edinburgh but we found it fine and went round the shops before coming back around 5 to get showered and read to go out.

**The room**
Our room, although on the small side, was clean and warm. We had a large double bed, with a TV, chest of drawers and chair, wardrobe and en suite bathroom. The shower was great, really warm with great power. We were also given a tea/coffee making facility in the room and some soap/shower gel products. When we were leaving to go out, Neil told us that there was no curfew, that our room key had a key for the front door on it so we could let ourselves in whenever we came back. That was quite good I thought. The bed was reasonably comfortable and there was no noise from Mayfield road.

**Departure**
In the morning, we skipped breakfast as we both had a hangover and couldn't stomach breakfast. I believe it is a cooked breakfast with sausage bacon eggs etc so that is good that it is included in the price. We also met the couple's dog Torin when we were checking out. If you're frightened of dogs, dont worry he stays downstairs with the couple and they will only bring him out if you ask. We wanted to see him as we both love dogs. He is HUGE!!! very playful!

**Overall thoughts**
This was a great place to stay for our night out in Edinburgh. Quiet, clean warm and friendly. Perfect for single people as well who perhaps have a meeting in Edinburgh early and want to stay the night before. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a cheap friendly place to stay whilst in Edinburgh, and although outside the city centre, this is probably a good thing as prices rocket the further into Edinburgh city centre you go!!

Would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Can only endorse what the previous reviewer wrote. Warm, comfortable & friendly B & B 20 / 30 minutes walk to town or bus at door. Plenty of pubs, restaurants & cafes near by, with a host who will supply recomendations. Breakfast well above average - good selection of serials, excellent museli & a selection of fruits, prunes etc., then comes the full english - bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms tomatos, toast & as much tea / coffee as you can drink.
For a price of a single room for one night in September - £30 - superb. In a street full of hotels / B & Bs this was the only one with a 'No Vacancies' sign on display - speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Back of the house if road noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed during the edinburgh festival for 2 nights. The prices were raised to £80 per night for 2 people but it was still cheaper than most places. Located about 20 minutes walk out of town which wasn't ideal but regular busses from right outside meant that this wasn't a problem. Mr smith was very friendly and torin the dog was amazing.. Like a big cuddly teddy :) our room was big and very clean, shower facilities were great and we didn't really have anything to complain about except the slight dog smell about the corridors which I'm used to anyway as I have a dog.would definitely return! Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryantoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here few nights with my family and had lovely experience. They have lovely cosy rooms, the service was fantastic and owners are friendly and helpful. This is a good part of Edinburgh experience. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaMecanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here three nights with my wife and loved every moment of it.Location was perfect, room and service excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely going back one day.Thank you mr & mrs smith we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidmurray065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed at this B&B for nearly 2weeks, run by the friendlIest of people - Mr & Mrs Smith. The room was so lovely and comfortable the breakfast really yummy and almost to much to eat! recommend this guest house! Thnx again Mr&Mrs Smith :) see u soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_mcdonald2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#35 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
Mayfield Lodge Guesthouse
#165 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#69 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#163 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#37 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths' Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths' Guest House

Property: Smiths' Guest House
Address: 77 Mayfield Rd., Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths' Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths` Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Smiths' Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing