We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$120
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$235
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$223
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$230
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$112
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$124
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$79
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$65
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$117
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$79
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
86
38
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
38
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedinburgh zoocool jadeb blovely roomcity centresituated directly oppositequality furniturebuses runbed was very comfortablecooked breakfastlate flightnight staylovely hostsbreakfast was excellentspent nights herethe ground floorairport bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 143 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having been disappointed for a flight to Belfast my niece and I along with another couple had to find somewhere to spend the night. Having found this guest house on booking.com I rang and spoke with a very pleasant lady (Dot) who said she had just 2 rooms available. I asked her to hold them for us and we would be with her withing 1/2 hr. On arrival we were greeted by Iain her other half and made extremely welcome. The rooms were brilliant warm and cosy and the bed was extremely comfortable. I was surprised at the cost (£50) which I discovered the next morning breakfast was included in the price. The guest house is directly opposite Edinburgh zoo and the bus stop to the airport is 20 yds up the road. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house and would like to thank both Iain and Dot for all they did for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frances1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to have been able to accommodate you after your stressful day! Assuming all went well on your return journey and hope to see you again under better circumstances :)

Iain and Dot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for the rugby and was extremely impressed with how lovely this b&b is! We were welcomed and shown to our room (3) which was well decorated and had everything we could have needed. We got the bus directly opposite the hotel into town and the same back at night so perfectly placed for getting around. Breakfast was superb and we would definitely look to stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TravellingFi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found it convenient for city centre and rugby amenities. Hope to welcome you again in the future to Dalmore Lodge.
Iain and Dot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a very nice b&b on the main road into the city centre from the west, it is literally 30 yards from the main entrance to the zoo, and there are several frequent bus services to and from the city centre right outside (this is recommended as parking in Edinburgh can be a nightmare!). There is free parking at both the front and rear of the b&b. We were originally in twin room 3 which was nice 'though small, however, due to a mix up by other guests, we were moved to double room 1 which was very spacious and nicely decorated with a small balcony (which we didn't use - it is December in Scotland after all!) and a view of the hills to the south of the city. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. I notice that several reviews mention road noise for rooms at the front, both of the rooms we were in were at the back but the breakfast room is at the front and the double glazing meant that the outside noise was at a minimum. For a b&b so close to the centre of Edinburgh the cost was very reasonable and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review. It was also appreciated you moving into the other room to accommodate our other guests! Hope to see you again if you are visiting Edinburgh.

Iain and Dot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a great stay at the Dalmore Lodge and we can't speak highly enough of this beautiful guest house......it is spotlessly clean with great bus links to the city and airport and the cooked breakfast is delicious, we strongly advise staying at this guest house(you wont be disappointed) and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandBirgit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks very much for your review. Glad you had a great 4 days with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Iain and Dot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

One night stay at Dalmore Lodge this week. Our bedroom (room 1) was beautiful and so tastefully decorated and faced the back of the house.It also had a lovely little balcony and a view of Aurthers Seat. The bed and breakfast was walking distance to shops and restaurants and on the airport bus route. Good breakfast in the morning with plenty of tea and coffee. £50 was excellent value for such a nice place to stay in Edinburgh.

I would highly recommend Dalmore Lodge.

Room Tip: room 1 is on the back of the property and was quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at the guest house.

In case the view causing any confusion, we actually face out onto the Pentland Hills and not onto Arthur's Seat.

Thanks again.

Iain and Dot, Dalmore Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews