We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scottish B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield Guest House
Ranked #39 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Scottish B&B”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I, together with our two kids were delighted to stumble across this delightful B&B run by Maggie and Gordon. We had arrived exhausted from an overnight train trip from London to Inverness, followed by a 3 hour drive and were warmly welcomed. With the boys too tired to go out, we were offered plates and cutlery to use so we could get takeaway and not travel anymore. The room was spotless and homely and the breakfast was substantial with both hot and cold options. We decided to stay another night before heading off. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room at top of stairs was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimmys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
103
46
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stay at Highfield Guest House on August 2012 for three nights. The room was very confortable and beautiful, the beakfast amazing. We loved the scottish breakfast. Very well cooked, very tasty and very well served. The all house was beautiful inside. Very very clean and very quiet at night. Near there is many buses to the center, and they arrive there very quickly. Kate and Maggie are very nice and allways helpfull when we ask for directions to the city and places, and providing maps and other information.
If we ever came back to Edinburgh we will stay there for sure. Thank you Maggie and Kate for your contribution to make our hollidays in Edinburgh wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Highfield Guest House for 4 nights in September 2012. From our first email and telephone exchange and throughout our four days there, Maggie, Gordon and Kate were the consummate hosts. Funny, warm, thoughtful, and endlessly helpful The house is charming, absolutely spotless, extremely comfortable and spacious. The only drawback is that everwhere we stayed thereafter (including some high end hotels) paled in comparison to Highfield!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSHAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed for 7 nights in September 2012. From the moment we arrived until our departure, nothing was to much trouble for Maggie or Kate (Gordon was on a Golfing trip in Troon) The guest house is very very clean and the breakfasts are more than enough to set you up for the day. It was obvious to me that the owners take pride in their establishment as well as in their love of Edinburgh, providing maps, time tables and even checking on their laptops for info for their guests. It surprised me that Maggie has been the owner for only 4 years and in that time has built up a very enviable following, as many guests return (and I will be one of them). Easy bus route access to anywhere in and around Edinburgh. Great short stay for dropping of teenagers to start their college courses and have a few days sightseeing. Wonderful, wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

An unassuming typical Victorian exterior - but once the door is open the smell of furniture polish recently applied excites the nose. The welcome here is second to none, we were only staying one night and we got full supportive instructions on how to navigate the city and find appropriate refreshment. The small room at the rear with views of Arthur's Seat was immaculate and comfortable with every element ticked, glasses for wine, toiletries, and drink making facilities. This guest house really did exist for the comfort of the guests and not just to line the pockets of the owners as is often the case. No corners cut on the breakfast which provided a wide choice and the hot breakfast was perfectly cooked. I've been in a good few B&Bs and I'm confident you will not be disappointed here. Note on street parking.

Room Tip: This is on a main road so if noise bothers you get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Highfield Guest House for 7 nights recently. Maggie and Gordon, the owners of the B&B, met us at the door upon arrival, helped us get settled and then spent quite a bit of time helping us to get acclimated to the area with an offer of maps and bus information. The B&B is a pretty brisk 35 minute walk to the city center but is on a bus route that is very easy to use and buses come by very often. Maggie would also call a cab for us and take care of all of those arrangements. Breakfast was wonderful each morning and there were many varied choices and way too much food to eat. We split our time at the B&B with a visit to Inverness and Maggie and Gordon allowed us to store our luggage there while we were gone for 2 days. Upon return, our baggage was waiting for us in our room. Maggie also gave us a spare key to take with us, so we could return whenever we were ready and didn't have to wait on them. We had a room for two with two single beds. The room was small but very well appointed. The decor was lovely with rich burgundy colors. There was a small wardrobe with a small TV on a shelf inside. There was a tea kettle with coffee, tea and hot chocolate if you liked and some small cookies. The bathroom was small but fine. There were plenty of bath products as needed. The rooms were clean and lovely. Windows could be opened for fresh air if desired. The entire visit was wonderful and when we return to Edinburgh we will stay there again. The only criticism is that there is no public gathering area other than the dining room so there is no where to spend time there other than your guest room. That really wasn't a problem as there is is much to see and do, we weren't there except at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a pleasure to stay at this wonderful, spotless, comfortable guest house with such friendly and helpful owners. When booking.com double-booked my room on the first night, Maggie provided me with a nearby house all to myself that was as spotless as my room. The one incident that was amusing more than anything was to find that two slightly damp cleaning cloths were left with my pyjamas under my pillow one night. It just reminded me how dedicated they were to cleaning - and the cloths were pretty clean! I cannot fault this great place in any way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#91 of 149 in Edinburgh
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#293 of 392 in Edinburgh
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kellerstain Stables B&B
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Guest House

Property: Highfield Guest House
Address: 83 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maggie and Gordon welcome you to their elegant Victorian guest house situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, close to the beautiful, historic city centre. The four star Highfield Guest House offers true Scottish hospitality so whether you are here on holiday or on a business trip you will find Highfield's friendly, informal ambience very relaxing and our attention to detail will ensure a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Highfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Highfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing