We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, cosy & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #39 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Friendly, cosy & comfortable”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying at Garfield. To start with Michelle and Martin are perfect hosts. They accomodated our request for an early check in and extended the welcome by preparing tea n breakfast while the room was being prepared. The location is also nice with a beautiful view. They helped us with guiding the best tourist attractions to see in the limited time that we were there. Although we stayed for one day only, but their hospitality made us so happy that we recommend this for longer stay also if people choose be longer in Edinburgh. Being Vegeterians they took special care of us for the breakfast and provided a detailed info on the city tour buses. Thank you Michelle and Martin, we hope to come back some day.

Room Tip: Room facing the street have a nice view of the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_and_Raks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    73
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
112
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted with nothing but kindness and happiness! The hosts Michelle and Martin were incredibly nice and cheerful and excited for us to arrive. We were shown to our room and given tips on things to do but also tips on the bus system to and from downtown. The room was on the older side but it served it purpose. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The room was not updated with modern touches but it was clean and comfortable. Parking was convenient and the location to the bus stop was great. The breakfast was very tasty and a good portion to keep us full for the majority of the day. The B&B is also a working pizza restaurant which was nice except when we tried to eat there unfortunately they were closed that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after reading previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful despite this being the busiest time of year. We had room # 9 which is connected to the back of the kitchen area, but noise and smells weren't an issue and the room was modern and very spacious. The location has a great view over sports fields to Edinburgh castle, you could catch a cab for around £7 into town which took about 10 mins or the # 23 bus for £1.50 which takes around 20mins, or you could walk too as its a lovely walk in, and very close to botanical gardens. Breakfast was great, although if you are leaving early make sure you order breakfast well in advance of when you need to go, otherwise it can be quite rushed. Overall a great place to stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for my birthday it was our first time to Edinburgh. We stayed in room 9 which you had to walk through the kitchen to we didn't care as they were not bothered about you walking through. the staff are so friendly and helpful in fact just amazing really. got to be the best guest house we've stayed in! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinchon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived in Edinburgh in a rain storm but our stay was made pleasant by our hosts, Martin & Michelle, who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable.
They recommended the best way to get around the city and their breakfast was substantial and excellently prepared.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front, with a view of the Edinburgh skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival at the Garfield there was lots of free parking, we were welcomed by Michelle who was very genuine and offered to help us with our luggage to our room on the second floor and ensured that we had everything that we needed for our stay.
The room was clean, and quite spacious. The wetroom was very clean and there was plenty of hot water, although the shower drainage was a bit slow so the whole bathroom floor was wet including the bathmat.
Breakfast is very good, and plentiful with cereal, fruit, yoguart etc available for you to help yourself before a choice of cooked breakfast with as much tea/coffee as you need.
At breakfast we met the owner Martin who was very comited to us having a pleasant stay. Nothing was too much trouble and he was helpful in getting us a taxi into town, advising on bus routes, places to visit etc. We did walk into Edinburgh a couple of times, but buses are frequent and a taxi £7-8.
A good value b&b in a dood location, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Garfield Guest House is special in that it is run by two born and bred Edinburghers. Martin and Michelle will orientate you in a way that only true locals can. So why go anywhere else?

The breakfast is still a hit and now they serve PIZZA DINNERS. Really tasty and generous. Do try the HAGGIS pizza! Also licenced now to serve alcohol, so a good place to stop by for dinner even if you're not staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#22 of 392 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
164 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#98 of 392 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Aaron Lodge
#30 of 392 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Property: Garfield Guest House
Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing