We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-night stay at central Edinburgh guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #41 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two-night stay at central Edinburgh guest house”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived in Edinburgh in a rain storm but our stay was made pleasant by our hosts, Martin & Michelle, who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable.
They recommended the best way to get around the city and their breakfast was substantial and excellently prepared.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front, with a view of the Edinburgh skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    73
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
110
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival at the Garfield there was lots of free parking, we were welcomed by Michelle who was very genuine and offered to help us with our luggage to our room on the second floor and ensured that we had everything that we needed for our stay.
The room was clean, and quite spacious. The wetroom was very clean and there was plenty of hot water, although the shower drainage was a bit slow so the whole bathroom floor was wet including the bathmat.
Breakfast is very good, and plentiful with cereal, fruit, yoguart etc available for you to help yourself before a choice of cooked breakfast with as much tea/coffee as you need.
At breakfast we met the owner Martin who was very comited to us having a pleasant stay. Nothing was too much trouble and he was helpful in getting us a taxi into town, advising on bus routes, places to visit etc. We did walk into Edinburgh a couple of times, but buses are frequent and a taxi £7-8.
A good value b&b in a dood location, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Garfield Guest House is special in that it is run by two born and bred Edinburghers. Martin and Michelle will orientate you in a way that only true locals can. So why go anywhere else?

The breakfast is still a hit and now they serve PIZZA DINNERS. Really tasty and generous. Do try the HAGGIS pizza! Also licenced now to serve alcohol, so a good place to stop by for dinner even if you're not staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a very comfortable 2 nights stay at the Garfield whilst attending the Open at Muirfield. We wanted to be away early each morning for the Golf and although it was the weekend, staff were brought in early to prepare our scrumptious full breakfast. Many thanks for that ! Our bed was huge so space was a bit tight but very cosy and spotless clean, the bathroom was small but a brilliant shower. We received a really warm welcome from Martin and all the staff and would not hesitate to return.Free parking outside the hotel and bus stops in many directions an added bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet, rooms overlooking the road have a lovely view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally19616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good location, great breakfast, in a really nice quiet guest house, ideal if you want a cheap city break & perfect if you've got a family. Staff are genuinely friendly & helpful, not just working to a formula, particularly Michelle on reception, who went to some length to ensure we were happy with our room, & Martin the chef/owner who was efficient & attentive. We've stayed at this guest house many times & enjoyed this last visit very much, largely due to the quality of the staff and the value for money in one of our favourite cities!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, Room was ok, but disappointed with the bathroom, it was actually a Wet room, where everything gets wet, even when using a shower curtain, Minute TV, Hard Pillows, and was not told about the Guest House also now being a Pizza Restaurant, Breakfast first morning , did not happen as owner did not turn up, second morning I asked for a full English with no eggs, but happy for anything else as extra, I received a Chipolata sausage ,two bacon , half a tomato, two small mushrooms, and a small amount of beans, I thought Scotland was proud of there Hearty meals, Obviously not.
A selection of Hair Dryers, a Hoover and Ironing boards situated at a collection point outside our room, what else can I say.
The lovely lady Michelle was very apologetic, gave me some money back on the room rate, and a box of Chocolates for the missed breakfast, very grateful for that indeed and thank you Michelle, you made what was a very poor stay , a little better, would love to come back to Edinburgh again,

Room Tip: Rear of the property are the Quietest rooms, make sure that you are happy with a wet room , if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms and showers. Friendly and lovely hosts. Greak breakfast and dinner. Perfect base to explore the city, which is in walking distance. Plenty of parking space and bus stop right in front of the guesthouse.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leichentraktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Sheridan Guest House
#24 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#38 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Property: Garfield Guest House
Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing