We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #37 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a very comfortable 2 nights stay at the Garfield whilst attending the Open at Muirfield. We wanted to be away early each morning for the Golf and although it was the weekend, staff were brought in early to prepare our scrumptious full breakfast. Many thanks for that ! Our bed was huge so space was a bit tight but very cosy and spotless clean, the bathroom was small but a brilliant shower. We received a really warm welcome from Martin and all the staff and would not hesitate to return.Free parking outside the hotel and bus stops in many directions an added bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet, rooms overlooking the road have a lovely view of the Castle.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally19616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Garfield Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 354 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good location, great breakfast, in a really nice quiet guest house, ideal if you want a cheap city break & perfect if you've got a family. Staff are genuinely friendly & helpful, not just working to a formula, particularly Michelle on reception, who went to some length to ensure we were happy with our room, & Martin the chef/owner who was efficient & attentive. We've stayed at this guest house many times & enjoyed this last visit very much, largely due to the quality of the staff and the value for money in one of our favourite cities!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, Room was ok, but disappointed with the bathroom, it was actually a Wet room, where everything gets wet, even when using a shower curtain, Minute TV, Hard Pillows, and was not told about the Guest House also now being a Pizza Restaurant, Breakfast first morning , did not happen as owner did not turn up, second morning I asked for a full English with no eggs, but happy for anything else as extra, I received a Chipolata sausage ,two bacon , half a tomato, two small mushrooms, and a small amount of beans, I thought Scotland was proud of there Hearty meals, Obviously not.
A selection of Hair Dryers, a Hoover and Ironing boards situated at a collection point outside our room, what else can I say.
The lovely lady Michelle was very apologetic, gave me some money back on the room rate, and a box of Chocolates for the missed breakfast, very grateful for that indeed and thank you Michelle, you made what was a very poor stay , a little better, would love to come back to Edinburgh again,

Room Tip: Rear of the property are the Quietest rooms, make sure that you are happy with a wet room , if you a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very clean rooms and showers. Friendly and lovely hosts. Greak breakfast and dinner. Perfect base to explore the city, which is in walking distance. Plenty of parking space and bus stop right in front of the guesthouse.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Leichentraktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice place to stay very clean and staff were very friendly we were late for breakfast and they were happy to cook us a hot breakfast. Great views from the front of the guest house to of castle rock. Wifi worked really well to. Would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for three days and have nothing to complain about. Owner Martin is a genuine example of a young, driven business owner that really strives to make all guests feel welcome and satisfied with their stay. The rest of the staff were also very kind. Breakfasts were very good and bus stop is just around the corner. A taxi ride to the old city is around 7 pounds and a ride to the airport will set you back around 20 gbp.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank JKPou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 days last week and loved it! Clean and conveniently located with a bus stop right outside that takes you to the centre of Edinburgh in 10 minutes. Martin makes great breakfasts and pizzas for dinner, and is so friendly - he checked bus times for us, made dinner reservations and made us feel very welcome. Michelle and Dee are also great and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Sandaig Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Aaron Lodge
#35 of 393 in Edinburgh
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
453 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
839 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing