We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great city!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #41 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great city!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good location, great breakfast, in a really nice quiet guest house, ideal if you want a cheap city break & perfect if you've got a family. Staff are genuinely friendly & helpful, not just working to a formula, particularly Michelle on reception, who went to some length to ensure we were happy with our room, & Martin the chef/owner who was efficient & attentive. We've stayed at this guest house many times & enjoyed this last visit very much, largely due to the quality of the staff and the value for money in one of our favourite cities!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    74
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
114
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, Room was ok, but disappointed with the bathroom, it was actually a Wet room, where everything gets wet, even when using a shower curtain, Minute TV, Hard Pillows, and was not told about the Guest House also now being a Pizza Restaurant, Breakfast first morning , did not happen as owner did not turn up, second morning I asked for a full English with no eggs, but happy for anything else as extra, I received a Chipolata sausage ,two bacon , half a tomato, two small mushrooms, and a small amount of beans, I thought Scotland was proud of there Hearty meals, Obviously not.
A selection of Hair Dryers, a Hoover and Ironing boards situated at a collection point outside our room, what else can I say.
The lovely lady Michelle was very apologetic, gave me some money back on the room rate, and a box of Chocolates for the missed breakfast, very grateful for that indeed and thank you Michelle, you made what was a very poor stay , a little better, would love to come back to Edinburgh again,

Room Tip: Rear of the property are the Quietest rooms, make sure that you are happy with a wet room , if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms and showers. Friendly and lovely hosts. Greak breakfast and dinner. Perfect base to explore the city, which is in walking distance. Plenty of parking space and bus stop right in front of the guesthouse.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leichentraktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice place to stay very clean and staff were very friendly we were late for breakfast and they were happy to cook us a hot breakfast. Great views from the front of the guest house to of castle rock. Wifi worked really well to. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for three days and have nothing to complain about. Owner Martin is a genuine example of a young, driven business owner that really strives to make all guests feel welcome and satisfied with their stay. The rest of the staff were also very kind. Breakfasts were very good and bus stop is just around the corner. A taxi ride to the old city is around 7 pounds and a ride to the airport will set you back around 20 gbp.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKPou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 days last week and loved it! Clean and conveniently located with a bus stop right outside that takes you to the centre of Edinburgh in 10 minutes. Martin makes great breakfasts and pizzas for dinner, and is so friendly - he checked bus times for us, made dinner reservations and made us feel very welcome. Michelle and Dee are also great and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We lucked into the perfect guest house for our family of five. At times it is difficult to find accommodations for a family larger than 4. We also did not want to be in the middle of downtown trying to drive on the left with a left-handed stick shift. The Garfield Guest House is a short distance from town, the tourist bus and city bus pick up just outside the front door, and the parking is free across the street.

Our room had a KING BED, a single and a bunk bed. It has a private bath with shower and an awesome view of Edinburgh Castle out of the large bay window. It also is immaculately clean.

I cannot say enough about our hosts Martin and Michelle. We had been camping for an extensive period prior to our arrival and Michelle took ALL of our laundry (family of 5) and washed it. She left it folded for us and there was no extra charge. Martin talked with my wife and I about Edinburgh and South Africa late into the evening. They both are incredibly friendly and will do anything to insure that your stay is perfect.

Breakfast is free and the smoked salmon is local and yummy. Can't say the same about the haggis.

It is nice to get away from downtown and relax in the evenings. Things are quiet and the Garfield is a great place to plan your next assault of the Royal Mile. Buses pick up right outside the front door (literally). A cab ride from the middle of the Royal Mile was 7.5 pounds.

I will definitely stay here on our next trip to Edinburgh! The kids love it as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 392 in Edinburgh
336 reviews
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Property: Garfield Guest House
Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing