We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big thumbs up!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garfield Guest House
Ranked #36 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big thumbs up!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have had a fantastic stay at Garfield Guest House. First impressions were excellent and then it just got better! Well appointed, clean rooms. Fantastic cooked breakfast and everything we could need. Staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. We will definitely be staying here again and can thoroughly recommend it. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    72
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
110
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and had the loveliest time. The room was quiet and comfortable and the location was ideal for exploring Edinburgh. But the true highlight of the stay were the generous hosts! They were so friendly and gave great recommendations for what to do while in Scotland. I have lots of food allergies that can make it difficult to cook for, but they were extremely accommodating. They made me a delicious quasi-traditional Scottish breakfast that was better than anything I could have found in a restaurant. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Super hosts. Only one night in Edinburgh for a quick dinner with my son and a meeting the next day. Martin could not have been more welcoming, the house was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and although every other room was full of parents and kids, I did not hear a thing between 10 pm and 7.30 the next morning. The breakfast could have been as huge as anyone might request; I did not require quantity, although it would have been easy for the greedy to stuff themselves. The small cooked breakfast I did order distinguished itself from the common B&B because none of it was pre-cooked (you can always tell). The mushrooms were particularly good,with just a touch of good black pepper, and the bacon was perfect., but as everyone came for breakfast at the same time the owner had his work cut out. Although he was busy he had a chat or a bit of advice for anyone who asked. He even offered haggis as an extra that day, although at that time in the morning they (the haggi) would not have had time to hang properly, as they have to be snared in the dark. All in all this is certainly Scottish hospitality at its very best, I have stayed in many Edinburgh B&Bs since I left the city 25 years ago, and this one will be my home-from-home from now on.

Room Tip: Ask the host
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirstysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this B&B for four nights the staff we extremely helpful and accommodating. The food was nice and the location was fairly central to transport for the major attractions. Definitely plan to recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hello there, I felt compelled to write a review just after leaving Garfield earlier on today as my partner and I had such a splendid time. The house is idealy located just outside of the centre of Edinburgh (5min on the bus) and there is plenty of free parking just opposite. Michelle was very welcoming, helpful and could not have done any more for us throughout our stay. I have to enthuasize to all those potential visitors thinking of staying here how delicicous the full Scottish breakfast was each morning.. you get sausage, bacon, mushrooms, beans and eggs made how ever you like them! We were also given a little bit of traditional Haggis which was a canny touch! I especially liked the fact that you had unlimited access to the breakfast bar, helping yourself to toast (brown or white), cereals and refreshments (juices, coffee and tea). The room was just what we were after for a short weekend break, it had everything you would need, my only gripe would be that I like my showers to have a bit more power to it but hey ho! Thanks again Michelle for making us felt welcome. See you soon, Chloe & Chris xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The cooked breakfast was a very high quality and beautifully cooked. The guest house is well situated with parking outside and the bus stop right outside the door. We stayed here a good few yaers ago and made a point of coming back for our stay this time in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

As soon as we arrived we were welcomed with tea and coffee, parking opposite and never had to move the car for 3nights as the bus stop into the city was right outside.The room that we stayed in had a great view of the city and castle, well stocked with biscuits tea and coffee. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had,very good quality and as much tea and pots of coffee as you like .Thanks Michelle will will defiantly be back






.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiocox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#33 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Property: Garfield Guest House
Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing