We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lauderville Guest House
Ranked #34 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from another great stay at the Lauderville with my husband, we always stay here when visiting Edinburgh and no wonder, its warm, friendly and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are second to none, so once again thank you Yvonne and Brian,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asprent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
95
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Lauderville Guest House. We received a very warm welcome which always makes a difference! Rooms were spotless and breakfast was prepared with lots of care. Location was very convenient and bus stop very close. Brian and Yvonne provided us with some useful information regarding Edinburgh which made our stay even nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiafGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powell river
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful room, large bathroom, all very clean. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room was lovely.

It is located a 10 minute bus ride from Waverley Station.


There is a wonderful Italian Restaurant, The Sambuca, about 4 blocks up the street ...great service, delicious food.

We would definitely recommend Lauderville House.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janrod48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a weekend in Edinburgh with my daughters. Originally we'd booked a twin room but our plans changed last-minute and happily the owners, Brian and Yvonne, were able to accommodate us in the family room. First impressions were very favourable - a warm welcome from Brian, spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, and a spacious bedroom. The king-size bed, single bed and iron 'sofa-bed' (the girls fought over who would sleep in it!) were perfect - all extremely comfortable, with quality bedlinen and cosy mattress toppers. Extra touches such as novels and comic books were much appreciated, as was the hairdryer (though this was a bit unpredictable, and required a really strong grip in order to stay 'ON' - probably not good for less able guests). The bathroom was roomy and gleaming - nice to have shampoo, shower gel and handwash provided. Towels were always fresh and fluffy, and there was even a lilac bathrobe to match the room decor! A hospitality box containing tea, coffee, chocolate, cappuccino and biscuits was great for a late night/early morning cuppa. I didn't sleep too well on the first night, as the traffic noise was a little intrusive but, as I am a light sleeper and unaccustomed to traffic noise, it was to be expected!

Breakfast is served between 8.00 am and 9.30 am, though the owners ask for orders for cooked breakfasts to be made before 9.15 am. The full Scottish breakfast was lovely - 2 rashers of bacon, fried egg, beans, mushrooms, tomato, sausage, tattie scone and black pudding. The following morning's cheese, ham and tomato omelette was, if anything, even nicer. One daughter had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, while the other had French toast with maple syrup. Everything was delicious and freshly cooked to order. I was a little disappointed that there were no cold meats/cheeses on offer, save a couple of plasticky BabyBels, but the fresh fruit salad was refreshing.

Free wifi is available, and there's an Ipod docking station in the room also, both of which were appreciated by my girls. We didn't watch TV while we were there, but there's a large flatscreen TV also.

Brian and Yvonne couldn't have been more helpful in providing recommendations for restaurants and pubs. We ventured to the Old Bell on our first night, and it was warm and snug, with some quality wines by the glass.

All things considered, we had a very good stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananafritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Guest house was delightful ~ loved the grand staircases. The hosts were really friendly & very helpful. Breakfast was delicious & I too would like to recommend the scrambled egg & salmon! We walked into the town & at a stroll it only took about 30 mins. We got a taxi back in the evening which cost £6.50 but it saved us getting wet from the rain.
The room was very comfortable & made good use of the space available. There was a powerful shower in a small en-suite & a good selection of toiletries. However, the only problem was the shelf above the sink. The sink was tiny & the shelf above stuck out so much that you needed to be a contortionist to rinse out your mouth after brushing your teeth! You can't even wash your face in the sink without soaking the bathroom floor. It would be better to remove the shelf & use the shelf that is in the unit below the sink. Happily, that is the only negative comment. We would have no hesitation in returning to the Lauderville & would recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was number 9 & faced the back of the house. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakgrove62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked one night whilst I visited Edinburgh on a business trip. The guest house was very clean and comfortable with lots of extras in my room i.e. herbal teas, cappuccino and hot chocolate, hairdryer including facility to plug my ipod in the TV.
Host was helpful and showed me how to get to my destination the next day.
Lots of options at breakfast and lovely breakfast room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The original booking was for another guest house which only days before our stay cancelled our booking due to flooding? It was important that we stay in Edinburgh due to the play my friend had written being performed at the Edinburgh Fringe. So with only three days notice we managed to get booked in at th Lauderville which turned out to be and excellent alternative. the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious, the food fantastic and with off street parking a perfect base for visiting the Fringe festival. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#26 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#88 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauderville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderville Guest House

Property: Lauderville Guest House
Address: 52 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lauderville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Town House (awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland Tourist Board). Well situated for all Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. All rooms en-suite and stylishly decorated with every amenity. Superb Breakfast Menu. High speed Wi-Fi throughout, hard wired internet in reception, and private (secure) parking, all free to our guests. Totally Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lauderville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderville Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Lauderville Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing