We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everthing I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale Guest House
Ranked #146 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great Hospitality, Great Room, Great Breakfast. 20 mins walk to the main town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HumptyWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were booked at the Arrandale guest house through the tourist information center for one night in Edinburgh. We booked it last minute and were very pleased with our accomodations. The beds were very comfortable, Lis was kind and definitely devoted to making sure that we had a very pleasant night's stay. We arrived later in the evening and left first thing, but it made an impression. We knew we were coming back through Edinburgh later in the week, but hadn't had time to make arrangements with Lis. We ended up calling two days later to request a room for the weekend. Sure enough, she had a room available for us. It was a very comfortable room, with a nice bathroom, provided towels and toiletries, vaulted ceilings, and the list goes on. There was an extensive list of items to choose from for our freshly made breakfast which was delicious! Lis made every effort to make sure we were happy. When we made addtional requests, she was quick to accomodate us.

I was shocked to see other negative reviews for this location! It was a quick and very easy bus trip, the price was great, and we truly felt like we were guests in Lis' home. This was easily the best place we stayed in our entire 15 day stay in the UK (at our price range, of course). Thanks Lis!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were so excited to do some sight-seeing in Edinburgh which meant that we were sorely disappointed when we got to Arrandale Guest House only to find that nobody was there and we could not check in. We waited for FOUR hours before the owner finally arrived without as much as an apology, I had to ask for that! Apparently the lady who cleaned the accommodation was unaware that she had to let us in!!!
Our only afternoon in Edinburgh wasted.
The breakfast the following morning was not to the standard we'd received elsewhere. The eggs were barely even cooked.
What a terrible time we had at Arrandale.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay at Arrandale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrandaleGuestHouse, Owner at Arrandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

I am very sorry to see your complaint on Tripadvisor. I was indeed very apologetic about you being unable to gain access to the guest house earlier in the afternoon and reduced your bill by £10 accordingly. I discovered the reason for this failure and have taken steps to rectify this matter. I can assure you, that there will always be someone here to welcome guests on their arrival. I am also very sorry to hear that the eggs weren't cooked to your liking - I would have happily cooked them some more for you, if you had asked. I would like assure readers of this that I receive many compliments for my generous, freshly-cooked breakfasts. Please do not let this one complaint put you off staying here. I have many happy visitors - last night, 5 of my 6 rooms were let to previous visitors who had returned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here whilst in the city for the fringe festival. I have no complaints or moans whatsoever for this guest house. From our arrival there was a nice greeting from the owner, the room was spotless clean, everything that you would expect from a guest house was there and also a few extras such as toiletries, shower gels etc in bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was made to order for each guest, all the items were lovely, we would definitley stay here again...... only minor thing was the rate of £80, this was probably due to the fringe festival and everywhere had increased their prices, but the advertised rates on the website for "normal" stays of around £50 is great value for money. Thanks for a lovely stay. Jon & Shaunna

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weejaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Staying at Arrandale Guest House was a delightful experience. We arrived very late, midnight-ish, and there was Lis's daughter to welcome us, big smile on her face, despite the unfriendly time of the night. Next morning, another big smile, Lis's this time. Ready she was to feed us the best haggis around and to pour us all the tea and coffee we wanted.

We most certainly do recommend Arrandale Guest House and as for ourselves, we know exactly where we are staying next time we go to Edinburgh!

Anna and Maria

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebitz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My wife and I recently had a weekend break before our son is born. We booked a room at the Arrandale and were told we had to pay a deposit AND the full balance before we arrived. I have stayed in about 10 b&b's in Edinburgh over the years and this is the first time I have ever had to pay in advance!

The room... Well... Nice enough I guess unless you are 38 weeks pregnant - which my wife was! The room had a double and a single which meant the door to the en-suite only opened half way! The toilet seat was broken and the bathroom was very small.

The beds were very uncomfortable and the duvet felt like it was made of lead - haven't slept in a bed like that since the 80's. Speaking of which, that's the era of the TV we had! Although it did have a remote albeit a broken one, taped together!

We had a great weekend in a great city and will definately return but will NOT be staying at the Arrandale!!

Price was ok but much better B&Bs in the same street!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfessorScuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lissiet, Owner at Arrandale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2010

I was very disappointed and hurt to read the above review. I have had very many happy satisfied guests staying here, some of whom return frequently. Most guests are happy with the price and pay a deposit and are advised of the cancellation terms. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay, but regret that you did not contact me at that time so that I could have improved things for you. I would have been most willing to see to your complaints on the spot, or offer you another room. I wish to assure any future, prospective guests that I maintain a good quality, 3 star guest house and any repairs or improvements are attended to promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed there for one week....it is very comfortable place, very near to bus stand.An indian take away is just few steps away...and caretaker is awesome.....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank feedback_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Emerald Guest House
#138 of 396 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#111 of 396 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#56 of 396 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,053 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Guest House

Address: 28 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lis & Ross extend a warm, friendly welcome to our 3 star Arrandale Guest House, a spacious 19th century villa, once a large family home and retaining some original features. Ideally located for the Castle, University and Roslyn. •Located in the Newington area on the south side of the city centre, close to Edinburgh University, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Arthur's Seat and the Meadows. •A short bus journey to the city centre, the Castle, Scottish Parliament, the railway station and the bus station. •Frequent, excellent bus service to all parts of the city, to Castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Yacht Britannia and to the south of the city, to Roslyn Glen, Butterfly World and to the Scottish Borders •rooms - single, double, twin, room for a small family/group of 3 people and a large family/group of 4 or 5 people. •5 Bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, one bedroom has a private bathroom outside of the bedroom (it is not shared). •Every room is equipped with a television, radio alarm clock, hairdryer, towels, toiletries and tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Arrandale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing