We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bee Impressed”
Review of Apiary Restaurant

Apiary Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Bee Impressed”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Given the size of the sharing platter here they really should just advertise with something along the lines of "You want meat? Oh do we have meat..."

But I'm getting ahead of myself, wind back to walking through the Art Deco entrance to this former bank and there's a lovely vibe, even with just a few of the tables occupied when we arrived. It's also nice to see a few of the Art Deco remnants remaining (or having been recreated), and the space afforded each table means you're not dining on top of each other. One thing worth mentioning though, if you're 6'3" tall then the booth tables along the window-wall are a slightly snug fit.

Let's get back aghead of ourselves. The starters are tasty, and a nice appetising way to begin, and the wine list is long enough, but also short enough, and has a range of prices. However let's step into this main event.

When we ordered the meat sharing platter we hadn't quite expected the massive board that arrived taking up half the table. On there were massive chunks of beef, ribs, pork, chicken wings - just piled high, with little condiment dishes to the side and a big bag of chips to go with it. We battled valiantly, savouring every mouthful, and in the end took home a doggy bag (actually, a catty bag as it turns out) of what we couldn't quite manage to tuck away. It's such a nice 'communal' way of eating - all with fingers (seriously, cutlery would just get in the way), occasionally laughing with each other at the sheer ridiculousness of it all.

It might seem a bit of a surprise, given the above, to know that I do have a slight gripe with the food. Trust me, it was lovely, and thoroughly enjoyed. The meat was cooked perfectly, falling off the bone and succulent, it's just you might expect a little bit more of a kick of flavour. It's hard to put a finger on it, but at the end, completely stuffed and happy, there was just this 'tiny smidge off perfection' feeling. And really it was just a really small amount, and it might just have bene that single particular platter. To be honest, it wouldn't put us off going back.

The waiting staff are so nice and friendly, and the bang for your buck so great, with that homely feel, and 'out of town' relaxation, that it would be churlish to deny a second visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thr33B1rds, Owner at Apiary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I think you should get that second visit organised anthbike, so we can read another descriptive story of a review like this one. Hopefully we can bump you up to 5*s! Thanks very much....3bee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    99
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The first BIG plus about this restaurant is - its warm! This may seem a peculiar start to a review but in its past forms the place was always freezing! Our table wasn't quite ready for us and they could do with a better 'holding area' to wait those minutes in. I picked poorly for mt main course but, VERY nicely, the waitress understood and agreed about that dish and I wasn't charged. Lovely, well-priced wine and great service. You'll be wondering about the 3 stars......it's the seating. It's booths around the walls (there are some normal tables in the middle and 1 wall). The seating is uncomfortable and the whole area seems slightly claustrophobic . We also had a small round table which made the experience seems a bit more cramped. So, this is a nice restaurant, quite a varied menu, well-priced but the whole place would be better (and I dare say more adaptable for the staff) if they ripped out the booths.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank motofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thr33B1rds, Owner at Apiary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Sounds like you got good service, though the food disappointed, and we're so glad you noticed the warmth in the room - took a LOT of hard work to fix that problem....our next fix might be the seating. So many people specifically request the booths but we do acknowledge that tall folks won't be comfy and now try to enquire in advance as to who would be best seated where....i note you awarded us 10/10 on our feedback cards in house so i'm sorry this issue made you decide on 3* on Tripadvisor - hopefully we'll see you again and persuade you the visit is worth more....3bee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I'm already a big fan of Three Birds (their sister restaurant in Bruntsfield) so felt pretty confident about being a fan of the Apiary too. It definitely didn't disappoint, the menu has a very similar feel to it and has some additions that are really special. The birds & beasts platter caught my eye on someone else's table when I walked in - a sharing platter with Chicken wings, ox cheek, cajun beef ribs and pulled pork with fries and BBQ beans. As I write that I find my mouth watering again - it was spectacular, very highly recommended! The atmosphere is great too, and the restaurant has been reworked very nicely from its previous incarnation to make it their own - lots of bee-related artwork and detailing. As if you wouldn't be sold on all of this already, the service is great as well, as expected from many a previous 3 Birds visit - super friendly and relaxed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwampHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thr33B1rds, Owner at Apiary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear SwampHound, the bee art continues as we launch our exhibition space this week...but the service and food will not change and remain great every visit! As will the meat platter....see you again soon, 3bee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“APIARY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

my mate J and me visited yesterday - food wise: the celeriac soup was tasty but could have done with being a tad warmer, we both had a burger and it was excellent, meaty and tasty - wine: a bit over priced I thought at £6 for a large glass, next time we'll buy a bottle. No complaints about service, speedy but not fussy. And, importantly, the toilets were spotlessly clean . . . We'll come back, cain't say more than that . . . .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiphoptwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thr33B1rds, Owner at Apiary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We hope you do come back, hiphoptwo....look forward to seeing you again....thanks! 3bee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“interesting menu friendly service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Been here twice in the past month. Food is good well cooked and the service very relaxed. Sharing platters are outstanding 600gr buccleuch rib with fries and stuff excellent! It is simple food simply presented with no pomp and ceremony! The majority of ingredients appear to be fresh although pheasant out of season was not! Wines very reasonably priced, white rioja (rueda) very tasty
Definitely worth a visit for an informal dinner if you're on the south side of town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thr33B1rds, Owner at Apiary Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We thank you for your review mike h, it's great! Our game supplier at Burnside Farms is a prime example of a great gamekeeper and he is able to guarantee a good supply of pheasant for a while. The dish will change at some point when he can no longer do this...3bee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apiary Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Apiary Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing