We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional bar one critical issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Ranked #103 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional bar one critical issue”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 evenings whilst on business, and hard to fault the location, the apartment itself or the great service from reception. I'd particularly highlight the quality of the room interior, its spaciousness and comfort and the range of facilities (2 ipod docks, 2 TVs, bluray player, etc)

However, I was very frustrated by the medieval wifi policy which blocked not just the obvious 'dodgy sites' but anything and everything which involved some form of streaming - video (e.g. youtube), audio (e.g. spotify), cloud services like dropbox. This policy fails to recognise that there is legitimate business uses for sites like YouTube (we deliver all our training this way, and embed in our support site) which presented me real difficulties. After an email, I was offered the choice to have some restrictions lifted but overall I just feel the hotel should address the root cause of their policy (i.e. invest in proper bandwidth) as its very rare you encounter anything so feudal. On to be honest, if I want to watch youtube for personal reasons or listen to music online, I expect any modern hotel to let me.

Overall, I'd stay again as it really is a wonderful place BUT I'd certainly make sure the wifi was configured so I could do work.

Room Tip: Ask up front, if you need wifi for business purposes and need some bandwidth, for them to remove res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCAAPTS, Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Just to make you aware that unfortunately you have posted your review on the wrong property. We appreciate all feedback from guests and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Stewart Apartments. Our internet policy has been put in place to control the bandwidth management giving everyone a fair amount of complimentary internet usage. As an internet service provider it is essential that we protect ourselves from any unlawful practices. In specific circumstances these restrictions can be lifted for legitimate business purposes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    94
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
155
79
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Booked this as a trip for my husbands 50th Birthday so wanted the apartment to be good. Was not disappointed!! We were upgraded to a larger apartment and found it to be very clean with absolutely everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Good quality toiletries, tea and coffee which I didnt expect. Also in a great location, on the canal bank, just a few minutes walk from the city centre. Two nice wine bars and an italian restaurant right beside apartments too.
Would definately go back and would recommend them unreservedly.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor cos the view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suejim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed over for the weekend and had a great time. Everything is of a very high standard and very clean. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Fountain Court apartments in Edinburgh. Very friendly staff and lovely clean bedrooms, living room and kitchenette. My only complaint was that the beds were not very comfortable.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Modern spacious apartments, great location, friendly staff. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimanAmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have stayed in EQ2 quite a few times now and have been in 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 2 penthouses. Each time the apartments have been excellent. Always good to have one with a canal view. Its worth asking when you book. To have secure car parking is excellent. £8 a night but thats good for the city.
Well equipped throughout and clean. This time we were upgraded to a bigger apartment than we had booked. Nice surprise.
We have also stayed in Grove Executive. Very good too.
We will return again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The location is great and the price for new year in Edinburgh for two couples was excellent. The apartment was a two bedroom, two bathroom, had everything in it that you would need, I did not find the beds very comfortable but we are not talking luxury hotel. The Apartment was quite and you can not here any noise from the other apartments especially since this was the busiest time in Edinburgh, I was expecting some sort of noise.
The reception staff are very helpful, at answering all of your queries and were very knowledgeable on Edinburgh. the whole booking process was very professionally handled,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soaper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#87 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing