We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as before”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheridan Guest House
Ranked #20 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our second visit in less than 6 months and still we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fabulous B&B. Tom & Rowena, the owners were incredibly friendly and happy to help, whether it was for recommendations, directions or anything else for that matter. The house itself was very grand and immaculate, with lovely high ceilings. Our room was stylish and comfortable the en-suite with an excellent shower and a good selection of high class toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely great; the cooked part was freshly made to order and kept us going for the whole day. The B&B is near Leith and not far from Edinburgh centre about a thirty minute walk or a quick bus ride. The bus stop was just across the road. We will definitely stay again.
.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birmingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 365 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay, in Edinburgh as its a thoughtfully designed place with easy access to Edinburgh city centre either walking or by bus. Friendly & considerate couple manage the guest house, with special attention to details and assistance if you require it.

The food is great, and tasty. The rooms are stylish, and are clean and well decorated. The Wi fi was of great help in getting up to date information about shows and timings.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have tried are well placed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

this really is a good place to stay - others have already mentioned the no 11 bus stop right outside, and City Car Club have a car in Pitt Street 100metres away which we used. The Watts have VERY high standards, breakfasts (8pm-9pm) are perfect, the house is scrupulously clean and stylishly decorated, and hard to fault. For a week's stay, wardrobe space is perhaps a bit limited, and i would have preferred a chest of drawers to the spare divan and large leather sofa - The en suite shower room although immaculate is, shall we say, a bit of a tight squeeze for those who would do well to go on a diet, and ok the bed was a bit harder than I am used to. But these are minor niggles when the the place is actually top notch

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14Rom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over New Year. Rowena is extremely hospitable and the service provided was beyond excellent! We certainly enjoyed the breakfasts and home made pastries. Super yummy!

If you don't mind not staying at the very center of Edinburgh, this is the place to be. Going into city center took 15- 20 minutes by bus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinburghadvisor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Sheridan Guest House for 4 nights and can only recommend it to anyone else who wants to visit Edinburgh. The room was cozy, the breakfast great and Rowena ever so helpful and friendly.
The bus stop was as close as it could be to the house without being too close (considering noise).
The WiFi provided was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKaD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at the Sheridan Guest House was fantastic. Rowena (the owner) couldn't have been more helpful. The guest house is beautiful and the rooms are lovely and very comfortable. It is only a very short bus ride to the centre and ideal for all. The breakfasts were fantastic too! I wouldn't hestiate to recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Sheridan Guest House is probably the best B&B that we (my brother and I) have had the pleasure of staying in. As soon as you arrived, you could be mistaken for thinking that you were at home. The room we stayed in was incredibly cosy - compact, yet not too small - and reflected the lovely homely atmosphere of the guest house. The cleanliness of the room was second to none. A lot of effort had obviously gone in to preapring it before out arrival. The facilities available - the room had an en suite - were also perfectly suited.

The breakfast at the Guest House was fantastic. The range of dishes was superb and each of the ones we tried were delicious! My personal recommendation is the porridge with stewed apple and cimimon (which was so good that I have tried since to replicate it!). If I lived in Edinburgh, I would definately be going to the Sheridan Guest House for breakfast every day!

The real success of the Guest House, however, lies in the host. From the moment we arrived, Rowena made us feel so welcome. She was incredibly friendly and was eager to provide lots of tips and advice on how to have a wonderful time during our stay. She even provided us with a map and recommended the best of the local restaurants to us! At breakfast, no request was too difficult and Rowena was eager to ensure that we were well fed!

Overall, I cannot recommend this guest house enough. I only stayed for a weekend but I wish that I could have stayed longer: a week or a month would not have been enough. Rowena informed me that she is planning to refurbish and upgrade some of the rooms. While I cannot imagine how they could be improved, I also cannot wait to see what she comes up with!

Room Tip: If you require a bit more space, be sure to request a larger bathroom when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
780 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
513 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Guest House

Address: 1 Bonnington Terrace, Edinburgh EH6 4BP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian house restored in a contemporary style while retaining the unique character of the building. Original artworks hang on the walls, Persian carpets provide a rich backdrop to the contemporary furniture and the food is always freshly home cooked and delicious. The Sheridan is sited to the north of Edinburgh's New Town, close to the vibrant port of Leith. It is just a short walk away from The Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre, and the Botanic Gardens, while the excellent sights, restaurants and bars of Edinburgh City Centre are just a short bus or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheridan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing