We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent cosy stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheridan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheridan Guest House
Ranked #22 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent cosy stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A great stay and within eeasy reach of the centre of Edinburgh. Rooms are a good size with all the required facilities. Ensuite bathrooms are also a good size. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great B&B. Breakfast was a high standard and the staff went out of their way to accomodate any requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    28
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
168
28
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fabulous B&B. The owners are incredibly friendly and happy to help, whether it is for recommendations, directions or anything else for that matter. The house itself is very grand and immaculate, with huge ceiling heights. The rooms are extremely stylish and have everything you need. The breakfast is absolutely amazing and kept us going for the whole day. The B&B is near Leith and is within an easy 10 min stroll to the HMS Britannia – which is well worth a visit.

When we visit Edinburgh again, we would definitely stay here – you will not go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rowana is one top B&B host! Excellent breakfasts, great recommendation on restaurants to go to at night (The King's Wark is a cheap and cheerful quint pub full of Edinburgh charisma that has the best seafood chowder ever!), and fantastic advice on anything and everything Edinburgh.

I stayed there with my parents. We booked quite late so we had smaller rooms right at the top of the house (compared to the larger rooms on the first floor). We were all happy with our rooms although the bathroom my parents had was a bit small for them (I had a nice large one! But my room had two single beds so we couldn't really swap).

If I go back to Edinburgh I'll be staying here again no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 days in Sheridan Guest House mid-september 2012. It´s at very nice and beautiful place. Fine rooms and lovely breakfast. Super friendly owners and staff. I give my best recommendation. The hotel is within walking distance to downtown and the new part of Edinburgh, and it is a very beautiful walk along the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sheridan Guest House is a little way from the centre of town (in Leith) - but we thought it was an exceptionally nice B&B. The house and each room are very attractively decorated with objects and crafts collected by the owners around Asia, including some very nice rugs. The rooms were small but nicely designed with comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good, and the owner really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottejborger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very friendly Owners. Room had all you needed for a comfortable stay. Good Breakfast that left you feeling set up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole place was very well appointed. Only stayed for 2 nights but would recommended if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

13th to 15th August 2012, inclusive.
Joan and I & our two friends Carole & Roger, we stayed for 3 nights at the Sheridan. We came up to go to the Royal Tattoo and the ‘Fringe’.
We arrived in Edinburgh by train from Cheltenham. We were met by Rowena and Tom who made feel very much at home.
The house is a beautiful Georgian property with the original cornicing etc, beautifully high ceilings so there's a real sense of space and light, with lovely artwork and plants giving the place a warm homely feel. Each room was beautifully clean and well appointed.
Our accommodation, room 2, was at the rear of the house, it was well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with everything you're likely to need. There was a small with very stylish en-suite, the bed itself was comfortable.
Breakfast next, well what a choice, Tom and Rowena are very concerned that everyone eats really well whilst under their roof and you will certainly be spoilt for choice. Rowena’s special touches make the food a great pleasure. You must try the full Scottish breakfast and Rowena's Scottish porridge with her special twist of stewed apple.
The location was excellent we walked to the Royal Yacht Britannia and local restaurants as well as visiting Edinburgh by bus and sometimes returning by taxi.
We had perfect weather for the Tattoo and the whole trip was really enjoyable.
We'd have no hesitation recommending The Sheridan to anyone and we'll definitely be using them again when we next venture up to Edinburgh. Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: I only saw rooms 1 & 2, they were both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimlad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Guest House

Property: Sheridan Guest House
Address: 1 Bonnington Terrace, Edinburgh EH6 4BP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian house restored in a contemporary style while retaining the unique character of the building. Original artworks hang on the walls, Persian carpets provide a rich backdrop to the contemporary furniture and the food is always freshly home cooked and delicious. The Sheridan is sited to the north of Edinburgh's New Town, close to the vibrant port of Leith. It is just a short walk away from The Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre, and the Botanic Gardens, while the excellent sights, restaurants and bars of Edinburgh City Centre are just a short bus or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sheridan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing