We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheridan Guest House
Ranked #18 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very friendly Owners. Room had all you needed for a comfortable stay. Good Breakfast that left you feeling set up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole place was very well appointed. Only stayed for 2 nights but would recommended if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

13th to 15th August 2012, inclusive.
Joan and I & our two friends Carole & Roger, we stayed for 3 nights at the Sheridan. We came up to go to the Royal Tattoo and the ‘Fringe’.
We arrived in Edinburgh by train from Cheltenham. We were met by Rowena and Tom who made feel very much at home.
The house is a beautiful Georgian property with the original cornicing etc, beautifully high ceilings so there's a real sense of space and light, with lovely artwork and plants giving the place a warm homely feel. Each room was beautifully clean and well appointed.
Our accommodation, room 2, was at the rear of the house, it was well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with everything you're likely to need. There was a small with very stylish en-suite, the bed itself was comfortable.
Breakfast next, well what a choice, Tom and Rowena are very concerned that everyone eats really well whilst under their roof and you will certainly be spoilt for choice. Rowena’s special touches make the food a great pleasure. You must try the full Scottish breakfast and Rowena's Scottish porridge with her special twist of stewed apple.
The location was excellent we walked to the Royal Yacht Britannia and local restaurants as well as visiting Edinburgh by bus and sometimes returning by taxi.
We had perfect weather for the Tattoo and the whole trip was really enjoyable.
We'd have no hesitation recommending The Sheridan to anyone and we'll definitely be using them again when we next venture up to Edinburgh. Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: I only saw rooms 1 & 2, they were both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimlad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very cozy, nice atmosphere, good bed, great breakfast and very friendly owners and staff. Only minus from location, which wasn't that bad since buses drive close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank MakkisDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A warm welcome, an extremely comfortable and very well-appointed room (the shower room was small but perfectly adequate, very nice shower!). Everything spotlessly clean. Fantastic breakfast that kept me going all day. Bus stop is just across the road, and takes only 10-15 minutes to the city centre. And Rowena had lots of good advice re. buses, left luggage, etc. I won't think of staying anywhere else if and when I return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Amazing service and extreme cleanliness. Best stay we had!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BussMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

When we arrived Rowena was just busy with the cleaning of the hall. Because we were very early, the room was not yet available, so we drunk a coffee in the cozy neighborhood of Leith.
After we went back to the guesthouse, we were surprised by the super spotless room and the beautiful interior of this guesthouse. All rooms are tastefully furnished.
Rowena was a very humorous hostess and Tom was very welcoming and helpful with good tips on restaurants and pubs in Leith (15 minutes walk).
The breakfast was delicious (even the "famous" Dutch "uitsmijter" was on the menu).

If you appreciate spotless rooms, warm hospitality, humor, delicious breakfast and a beautiful location, this guest house will not disappoint. And with nice (fish-)restaurants in the neighborhood it is no need to go to the city for a drink or a meal.

CeJe, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travel to Edinburgh fairly frequently, and have had mixed experiences with accommodation. The Sheridan turned out to be a great find - with spotlessly clean rooms, friendly hosts and a superb breakfast.

The house is decorated with beautiful and fascinating artefacts from the Far East, and are evidence of the hosts' good taste. Linen was a brilliant white, spotless and crisply ironed - little touches, but signs of care and thoughtfulness.

The rooms are cleverly designed and comfortable, with everything the most demanding guest could wish for, and although the ensuite was compact it was fine - with an excellent shower.

A warm, friendly welcome in a convenient location - our search is over!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WerdnaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 394 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Guest House

Address: 1 Bonnington Terrace, Edinburgh EH6 4BP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian house restored in a contemporary style while retaining the unique character of the building. Original artworks hang on the walls, Persian carpets provide a rich backdrop to the contemporary furniture and the food is always freshly home cooked and delicious. The Sheridan is sited to the north of Edinburgh's New Town, close to the vibrant port of Leith. It is just a short walk away from The Royal Yacht Britannia, Playhouse Theatre, and the Botanic Gardens, while the excellent sights, restaurants and bars of Edinburgh City Centre are just a short bus or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sheridan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing