We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic food at an excellent price”

Laila's Mediterranean Bistro
Ranked #98 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: An olive-grove haven, serving a delicious array of dishes from the Mediterranean and the Levant...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic food at an excellent price”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Found laila's through positive reviews on tripadvisor. Lovely restaurant with quality food at good prices. Also saved a fortune as its byob with no corkage which you can't find in many place in Edinburgh. Only slight criticism is we were sat in large square table where there wasn't really room for waitresses to get by to serve others. However glad they made room for us and were so friendly and attentive. Booked my next visit already!

Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    270
    51
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Laila's”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We, my family and i, went to Edinburgh and came across Laila's, we popped in for lunch, there were 5 of us. The staff were very cheery and helpful, the food was fantastic as was the service. I would recommend Laila's to everyone. Can not wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 222Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely find, excellent family experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the service, well pleased. I ordered fish and chips and the fish was so delicious and fresh, we had a Meze platter for starters my wife had a Angus burger and my kids had pasta of the day and chicken breast burger meal the staff were very nice and friendly

Helpful?
Thank Yusuf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a little gem that should not be missed. I booked a reservation online using the restaurant's website which was so easy and provided you with a booking number and receipt to print off. The online menu was also clearly well presented with the various dishes and prices to choose from. There is a lovely Mediterranean olive colour scheme and design through the menu, place settings and soft furnishings which compliments the intimate and friendly atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and well presented in a relaxed style. The food was fresh, hot and in very generous portions, I ordered a mezze for two, two main courses, a side order, two deserts ( plus one to take home), two soft drinks and a large bottle of water for £50, but you can also BYOB and no corkage is charged.
The customers varied in age and included children who the staff made very welcome. There is also a take out facility available. This is somewhere I will definitely return to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully prepared food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was in Edinburgh for the week working and this place caught my eye when walking to my hotel (just around the corner for the Carlton). It's small inside but cosy and the menu has a wide variety which should suit most tastes. I had a feta salad to start-around £3 and to be honest it was so a large portion it was sufficient in it'sown right. I then had calamri and chips. Simple but very well cooked.

This is a bring your own bottle place but luckily there is a shop across the road if you turn up unprepared.

Wel worth a visit anytime of day. Fantastic value for money and they will be getting my custom again when I visit Edinburgh again next month.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooby2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laila's Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Laila's Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing