We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #49 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have visited several B&B's in UK, and Sandaig was definitly the best one. Clean room, good service, awesome breakfast. I left Sandaig very early in the morning bcz of the flight schedule, they gave me a packed breakfast and it contained more than I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMSYMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Sandaig Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 760 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We were on the top floor with a partly sloping ceiling, so did have to take care, but this was a very minor point in an otherwise excellent place to stay. Very comfortable bed, clean room and ensuite and Marina and her staff were most helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The house was lovely and quiet and the breakfasts were really good with a great choice and variety, all served with a warm and welcoming smile! Thank you, we would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choosey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found the Sandaig a very convenient location to the city historic center and especially to the coast and the charming town of Porobello Beach. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and had a wonderful view of the park across the street. The breakfast was more than ample and in a very pretty dining room. The staff was friendly and we felt welcomed by the sherry in our room upon arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights for a weekend break. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The room was a adequate size for the length of our stay and had a really comfortable bed and en-suite. The room was clean and homely. The breakfast was the perfect start for the day with a varied selection including the full scottish. This meant we could explore without needing to stop for lunch but just grab a snack mid afternoon. The guesthouse is in a lovely area and I would recommend for anyone wanting a home from home stay. Thanks to all the wonderful staff there

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We highly recommend this lovely guest house in Leith. The room was beautifully and interestingly decorated, and as for the bed,so so comfy. Breakfast was delicious and the Hungarian lady who booked us in and served breakfast was a delight. Our son lives and works in Edinburgh, so we'll definitely be back! The Compass is a 10 minute walk across the park, with super food and a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, but not at all noisy due to very efficient double glazing
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not far from city centre (20 min walk but also good public transportation - bus very close). Great breakfast. Excellent service and very nice accommodation. Very quiet a night. And again, great breakfast :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jos3paulojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Sandaig a number of times. Warm welcome,great choice at breakfast,friendly helpfull staff.Clean comfy room,ensuite. Excellent for local transport,free on street parking.Perfect base for exploring Edinburgh.Enjoyed my stay,will be back again. Julie. Harrogate

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Alba House
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 393 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garfield Guest House
#39 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#41 of 393 in Edinburgh
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing