We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #42 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights for a weekend break. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The room was a adequate size for the length of our stay and had a really comfortable bed and en-suite. The room was clean and homely. The breakfast was the perfect start for the day with a varied selection including the full scottish. This meant we could explore without needing to stop for lunch but just grab a snack mid afternoon. The guesthouse is in a lovely area and I would recommend for anyone wanting a home from home stay. Thanks to all the wonderful staff there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    186
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
137
345
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We highly recommend this lovely guest house in Leith. The room was beautifully and interestingly decorated, and as for the bed,so so comfy. Breakfast was delicious and the Hungarian lady who booked us in and served breakfast was a delight. Our son lives and works in Edinburgh, so we'll definitely be back! The Compass is a 10 minute walk across the park, with super food and a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front, but not at all noisy due to very efficient double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Not far from city centre (20 min walk but also good public transportation - bus very close). Great breakfast. Excellent service and very nice accommodation. Very quiet a night. And again, great breakfast :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jos3paulojesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Sandaig a number of times. Warm welcome,great choice at breakfast,friendly helpfull staff.Clean comfy room,ensuite. Excellent for local transport,free on street parking.Perfect base for exploring Edinburgh.Enjoyed my stay,will be back again. Julie. Harrogate

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A two night stay in a spotless guesthouse. Breakfast was five star. Room comfortable and staff very pleasant. Parking was easy on the street and I believe there to be a good bus service. Definitely four star with an even better breakfast offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay on a very convenient bus route. Only downside that there really wasn't anywhere that nice to eat that close by. Restaurants were available about 15 mins away walking but had to walk through a pretty unpleasant pert of Leith to get there. If you have a car no problem, perfect location!! Breakfast was wonderful with perfect service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Could not get a hotel in Edinburgh so opted for the Sandaig. Very welcoming and showed me to the room. Very comfortable with a large bathroom. The complimentary bottle of sherry was a great treat!! Breakfast was execellent and I would highly recommend as an alternative to staying in a mid range hotel in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafelatteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 393 in Edinburgh
329 reviews
Alba House
#47 of 393 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 393 in Edinburgh
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garfield Guest House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 393 in Edinburgh
351 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 393 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Property: Sandaig Guest House
Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing