We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotch Mist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
Ranked #53 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just returned to Australia after a less than satisfactory stay at this Guest House. I booked the accommodation some months ago and was taken in by the pictures of what appeared to be large rooms with four poster beds and I foolishly thought that for 130 pounds per night that was what we would get. How wrong was I! We were stuck in a small cramped attic room in which the person lying on the right hand side of the bed could have done themselves an injury if they had jumped out of bed in the middle of the night and stood up - as there was a low solid overhang in the ceiling adjacent to the bed. The amount of strorage space for clothes was pitiful and my wife and I found ourselves trying to live out of and negotiate 2 large cases and 2 items of hand luggage. Whilst the owners were helpful this did not compensate for what was very poor value for money, I cringe to think what this would have cost us in Aussie $ terms a few years ago as it would have equated to over $300 per night. As it was it was equivalent to around $180 per night for less than which we got to stay in a fabulous hotel in Singapore called the Traders on our way back - check it out and compare. Also in the nights before our visit to Edinburgh we stayed at a McDonald's Hotel - Linden Hall in Morpeth, Northumberland, an old Georgian Manor House - 65 pounds per night including breakfast and access to sauna, spa and heated pool. I know it is the high season at this time of year in Edinburgh and we did only stay for 3 nights but really - the tariff should reflect the standard of room provided and not merely be one price and you take pot luck with what you get. You also have to remember this place is stuck out in Leith to so charging a premium price is even harder to justify. Oh I nearly forgot - you do get access to fast Wi-Fi internet though - whoopee!

Room Tip: stay in another guest house/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Chris SS
We are very disappointed to read your review. During the Edinburgh festival, you will find that this is our busiest time and all establishments in Edinburgh are charging their top published rates, so the rate of £130.00 is correct for a classic double room, in August at our establishment.
You have admitted it that foolishly you presumed that you would receive one of our superior rooms at the rate of a classic room. If you required one of our superior rooms, then that is what you should have booked, but the rate of course would have been higher.
Edinburgh in August can not be compared to Morpeth, which does not have an international festival going on.
Our tariff does reflect the type of room and our classic doubles range from £65.00 to £130.00 compared to our
Superior rooms which range from £85.00 - £210.00 throughout the year.
Yes, we do listen to our customers and have upgraded our WI FI, so that it is now complimentary to everyone in each room. Unlike a major hotel chain that I have recently stayed at who were charging £16.00 per day for the privileged.
Stuck out in Leith. Leith is an extremely cosmopolitan place, the guest house offers free parking, which is difficult to claim in Edinburgh. It is opposite historic Leith Links, where the original rules of golf were made. It is one and a half miles to walk and ten minutes by bus to the city center. Some of the most fascinating history and architecture can be found in Leith and of course some of the best restaurants in Edinburgh are in Leith and within walking distance from the Sandaig. Not a bad place to be stuck in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 762 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Sandaig at the end of June and found the welcome friendly, the room comfortable and the breakfast especially good with enormous choice! The staff serving breakfast were very helpful. My room was at the top of the house and overlooked the Links which is quiet at week ends but there is a little traffic noise in the morning on week days. This would not bother most people! I enjoyed the "out of town" location as I prefer to be away from the hustle + bustle of city life! Also there is a very good bus service just outside the B+B and it only takes 10 minutes to reach the centre of Edinburgh and the main tourist attractions.
There is a good choice of restaurants in Leith within a 10/15 minute walk from Sandaig. A couple of evenings I walked on my own to + from the restaurants in this area and felt quite comfortable. I would definitely recommend this B+B!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaide1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice B&B, rooms are very nice and service is fine,
The only con is distance from town center. I would have prefered a location much closer to town. Actually it is located in a different town, alltogether.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank israelifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautifull rooms, although the bed was a bit hard. The staff were nice and helpfull. We arrived late and had to let our selves in, but we received good instructions on how to do so. Exelent breakfast. Only 30 min. walk from city center to the guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brillefjosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The house and the rooms are really beautiful and the staff is so nice and lovely! We really enjoyed our stay and would come back another time. The only small drawback was the location, it's 30 minutes from the centre but there are enough buses to get there.. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My enthusiasm was tempered for the Sandaig Guest House because, wheATMs girlfriend and I arrived for our stay, there was no one to let us into the building. The building is not staffed 24 hours, and there had been a mixup as to when the staff believed we were going to arrive. Once past this mixup, the experience was very good. We had a very comfortable king-sized bed, and the Belfast served at the guest house was absolutely fantastic. Center city isn't in walking distance, which is a definite drawback because cabs are expensive in Scotland. However, on the whole, we had a by positive experience at the Sandaig.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Derek and Marina made us very welcome. The room was stylish and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and so were the staff. We would definately recommend this guest house and hopefully we will be visiting it again soon :D

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rathercool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Dene Guest House
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
349 reviews
Alba House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 393 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
Glenalmond House
#63 of 393 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $92 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing