We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Valentine -Wedding Anniversary stay”
Review of The Lairg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lairg
Ranked #64 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Many thanks to the staff at the Lairg Hotel Coates Lane for their helpfulness. The Hotel was very clean, spacious and warm. The room we had was much larger than the pictures seen with attractive decor and a large four poster bed. Extra tea & coffee items were available on a landing table. The breakfast served in the well laid out Breakfast Room was freshly cooked with adequate buffet supplies of cereals, fruit, toast, teas & coffee. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked for something- The location is good for travelling to and from the Airport by fixed price Express Bus Link, along with local bus stops nearby into the City Centre, also with the train station 100 yards away. We will be returning with other family members in July- thank you Kristella and Rimas for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: if walking upstairs a problem -suggest lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 508 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

this was our second visit to this hotel although the first visit was some time ago and the hotel seemsto have changed hands since then. It is in excellent location for public transport, being close to Haymarket station, just one stop from the city centre. The city centre is an easy walk from the hotel, although at the moment with the tram works the streets are a bit of a mess. It offers comfortable and spotless accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis, and we could find no fault with our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollycat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is a nice small hotel located next to Haymarket train station so for this reason it is good not to carry your bags around the city is you arrive by train. The hotel is a house situated in the middle of a strip of houses. Rooms are with antiques like furniture, very tall rooms but not that large as a surface, they have divided the original larger rooms with light plaster walls, turning them into smaller hotel rooms.
In the morning the smell from the kitchen was coming up in the rooms, but it wasn't that bad. The cleanliness I can say that was a little more than average. The breakfast is typical Scottish breakfast or optional some scrambled eggs and so.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhergaTos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights and had a really good time. Room had everything we needed, and both the room and the en suite shower room were spotless. Tea and coffee making facilities and there was an extra basket full on the 2nd floor for you to replenish anything.
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice including fruit juices, 4 or 5 cereals, toast, croissants, scones and a great selection of cooked items. Also the hot chocolate was great.

Look out as there is no lift, so if you have trouble with stairs just request a lower floor. Only other thing that was a slight problem was the window rattling because of the windy weather on our 2nd night.

Hotel is only 10-15 mins walk to city centre but with buses and taxi on your doorstep you don’t need to walk if you are not up to it.

Overall a great place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMS2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very easy to find. Very nice room. Breakfast absolutely fine.
Clean, comfortable and just what we wanted for a night stopover.

If you're looking for somewhere convenient, handy for the city centre but still quiet, with recently refurbished rooms and friendly enough staff then book here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

had a lovely weekend break staying at The Lairg, Edinburgh. Rooms excellent, modern furnishings, very clean. Lots of choice for breakfast including a Full Scottish :). The owner was very friendly and on our departure he opened 1 of the free rooms for our use as we had to wait couple hours for our trains. The only downside to this hotel are all the stairs, our rooms were on the top floor (in what would have been the old attics) and as i recently had a hip replacement and suffer arthritis in my knees i found these quite intimidating at times .. especially after a day trekking up to Castle and then down Royal Mile to Holyrood House!! Would stay again but would request a ground/first floor room.

Room Tip: if you find stairs difficult please ask for ground/first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycloell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed one night and were met by a foreign man presumably the owner who was helpful in finding somewhere to park, actually I was lucky because we arrived at 2.30 which meant I could park down t he street for £8 with Sunday free, otherwise it could've been tricky. The room was an adequate size with dark impressive furniture , tea/coffee making facilities and extra milk etc. in a basket outside the room. The bathroom was smallish with an excellent shower and the whole room was spotlessly clean, however the mattress was hard. Breakfast was good with a choice of full Scottish or kippers and pastries, cereals juices and toast .

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre with trains and taxis close by.

Our stay was spoiled by an altercation just as we were going to sleep, it sounded like a couple having a row followed by the woman smashing things on her way down the stairs, then the man accusing the owner of assaulting him but we don't really know the details, needless to say my wife didn't feel comfortable there after that and didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 396 in Edinburgh
368 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#68 of 396 in Edinburgh
447 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 396 in Edinburgh
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 396 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
West End
22 Chester Street
22 Chester Street
#72 of 396 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#170 of 396 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lairg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lairg

Address: 11 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $48 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lairg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lairg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairg Hotel Edinburgh
The Lairg Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing