We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit spoiled by bizarre attitude to customers”
Review of The Lairg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lairg
Ranked #57 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our visit to the Lairg started off well and managed to slide downhill to the point of hitting rock bottom when we left. Probably the oddest hotel stay I've ever had.

The owner worked through his less-than-native-standard English to be friendly, welcoming and informative on arrival. The 'convenient' parking was a bit of a misnomer, but he gave us two options, including a specific residential space about a third of a mile away, at a cost of £10 until 2pm the next day. So he said anyway.

The rooms were a pleasant surprise. I'd say furnished to a significantly higher standard than you expect for hotel in this price bracket. I have to stop short of saying comfortable though, because it was rather chilly and the radiator stayed stubbornly cold throughout the stay, even though I adjusted it. I didn't bother saying anything because it was just about warm enough under the duvet.

To breakfast. The young waiter seemed to speak very little English and was painfully shy (perhaps there was a connection between the two). His idea of asking for your order was to stand a couple of yards from your table, look at it, and tap his pad with his pencil. This was just awkward. The breakfast that came out was decent enough though.

What happened immediately after breakfast took off whatever gloss was left. We were informed that another guest had paid for our parking space and we needed to vacate it (five hours ahead of schedule). What's more, one of our party of four was to get in the new guests' car, direct them to the parking space and then drive back to the hotel in our own car to collect our luggage and the rest of our party. We had no desire to split up, nor to have one of us go off driving around an unfamiliar city with a pair of complete strangers. We tried to object politely, and ended up having to object more firmly because the owner was incredibly persistent in trying to persuade us to go along with his little scheme.

So, we went to get our car, five hours ahead of schedule, and just as we got there, the new guests pull up in their car to sit there and wait for the space. We continued our road trip of northern Britain in not particularly good humour.

Our experience was perhaps a one-off, but you've been warned!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for The Lairg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 496 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is quite nice but the owner is awful!
He was grumpy when I arrived and the room I had was not very nice.
On my first night I couldn't open the front door with my key. I had to ring the doorbell for about 10 mins. When he came to the door he was grumpy and told me it was my fault the door wouldn't open!
His English isn't very good and he is very strange. Angry one minute and smiling the next.
He is just like Basil out of Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QLJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

got lost looking for the hotel but that was our mistake and its very close to haymarket station ,The owner a foreign gentleman opened the door he was very friendly and explained about the breakfast etc he gave us our key which was for room 27 which is in the house next door (seems to be 2 hotels in one ) our room was at the top of the landing . On entering we were pleasntly suprised how clean and modern it was , no bath just a shower it was nice and we were very happy with it ..........but the bed was so hard my wife struggled to sleep .The breakfast was lovely a buffet plus a fully cooked scottish brekkie.We got this hotel on booking.com at a reasonable price .i would reccomend it but if anyone from the hotel who reads this and wants people to stay extra nights then please invest in some new beds !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location, near rail station and also bus stop when going to city centre. Nice staff. Met by Remis; who took our luggage to our nice, large, clean room, provided us with an Edinburg tourist map and explained some of the tourist sites. He went that extra mile by letting us check in early and allowing us to keep our luggage there well past normal check out time. Nice breakfast. Highly recommend for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Big and clean room. Nice breakfast. Little bit far from the main touristic attractions, about 35 minutes walking.
My husband and I stayed in The Lairg Hotel only one night. It was our last night in Edimburgh before our departure to the airport in the next morning. It was very convenient because the bus to the airport stops only few steps from the hotel.
After 27 days travelling in UK finally we had a different breakfast, not tradittional, but smoked salmon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Lairg good value for the money breakfast excellant lots of choice, room very clean. Good shower room only problem was our room was on the 3rd floor and we found it tricky for us to get up and down

Room Tip: if you are a little older ask for first floor room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days whilst in town for the Military Tattoo. The owner made us all feel at home and went far out of his way to help us. He called taxis for us and even let us store our luggage for a few hours after we checked out. The breakfast was normal a full scottish breakfast; nothing really stands out and nothing really to complain about. It's about a 20 min walk to Edinburgh Castle. There are several pubs around the area, all with reasonably good "pub grub". I thought the room was a good value; it was always neat and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,075 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#83 of 393 in Edinburgh
407 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 393 in Edinburgh
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4Kt Guesthouse
#25 of 393 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lairg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lairg

Address: 11 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lairg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lairg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairg Hotel Edinburgh
The Lairg Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing