We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent B&B in Edindurgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southside Guest House
Ranked #54 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B in Edindurgh”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A. great, stylish B&b. We stayed for 2 nights late July, during the Jazz festival. The location is great, you can walk everywhere, Franco and Lynne very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was superb. The room was a bit small but nice and comfortable. Definately we will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
147
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We usually stay at Southside when we are in Edinburgh and thoroughly recommend it. Franco & Lynne are extremely friendly & helpful, the rooms very comfortable, stylish & clean, the breakfasts superb and the location is great for our purposes. If we want to go into the city, there are lots of buses, but we often walk and see a bit of Edinburgh on the way. Arthur's Seat, Holyrood Park & Salisbury Crags are within easy walking distance of Southside. Altogether an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor room with doors out to a delightful patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Franco and Lynne are friendly and welcoming but not intrusive. Franco has managed large hotels and his professionalism and experience is evident. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was probably the best we have had in a B&B. As well as fruit, cereal, yoghurt and the usual things you would expect, there is a choice of three hot dishes. The menu changes daily. You can also have a glass of bubbly. The position is very good, as you can walk to the nearby hills and the university or walk to the city centre (there is also a regular bus), Stay there if you go to Edinburgh and are looking for an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Southside for three nights and the experience was beyond our expectations. The whole place is nicely decorated and very cosy, the room was very comfortable and quiet, breakfast was very good. Franco's hospitality was warm and professional. The Southside is definitely a better choice than most four star hotels in town.

Room Tip: Room n.1 faced the garden, no noise whatsoever from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. Franco and Lynne are both very helpful and the hotel is spotlessly clean. There is an excellent breakfast and in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilary1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is excellent place to stay in Edinburgh, especially if you are visting the University, and it is within easy walking distance of the city centre as well. Location, room, food and above all service are excellent. Like another review says, it's practically perfect !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHare1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thanks Franco and Lynne for another delightful 7 nights stay last week. This was my 5th visit to Southside; it is my home away from home when I am Edinburgh and would not consider staying anywhere else. Perfectly located on Newington Road, and within walking distance of the Royal mile, there are several excellent and affordable restaurants in the region. The rooms are great, tastefully furnished and quiet. Franco and Lyne are very accommodating and always make my stay a pleasure. The highlight has to be Franco's cooked breakfasts; the food is excellent, it's the best Scottish breakfast I have had. My only problem with recommending Southside is that everyone else will want to stay and I won't be able to get a booking next time, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
806 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
Highfield Guest House
#37 of 444 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Strathallan Guest House
#61 of 444 in Edinburgh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Guest House

Property: Southside Guest House
Address: 8 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southside is a stylish and welcoming Guest House in the heart of the City of Edinburgh close to the Old Town. It provides very comfortable accommodation in a contemporary, smart decor in a period setting. The eight stylish en-suite bedrooms, which include two Four Poster Rooms, have been designed to be as individual as our guests. If you are seeking somewhere unique and memorable for your Edinburgh visit, Southside is an excellent choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Southside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southside Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Southside Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing