We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southside Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$324
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
269
33
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
33
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milearthur's seatfour poster bedwonderful hostsevery morningwonderful guesthouseexcellent breakfastcity centrelight sleeperhigh ceilingstop floorbus stopscottish breakfastlovely roomstayed for nightsprinces streetlynne
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 310 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lynn and Franco are wonderful hosts at this lovely B&B.
We arrived early and they had the room ready for us, and were very helpful with local knowledge.
The breakfast is amazing, and they even offer a bucks fizz! It is easy to get into town from the B&B, and it's right next to Holyrood park, which has amazing views.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobblyspelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I would highly recommend the Southside Guest House!
The rooms are very spacious and comfy.
Franco and Lynne are wonderful hosts who provide a delicious breakfast every morning. They even print out the weather forecast each day for you!
I was delighted at the location of the Guest House. It is within easy walk to the city center, although if you want to take the bus, there is a bus just outside the Guest House that will take you to the Royal Mile, and many Art Museums and Galleries.
The rooms were very quiet and heated well. I was impressed with how clean the rooms were as well.
It was quite a surprise to find that for the entire 5 days of my trip it was sunny everyday in Edinburgh!
It was a delightful stay, and I would highly recommend the Southside Guest House to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights Aug. 24 -27, during the busy festival season. My husband & I stayed in Room 8, which is probably the most beautiful room at the inn. It was decorated Art Deco style, with a four poster bed, leather couch, a sitting area, and French doors that opened up to a backyard garden. This was our first trip to Scotland, and we were so lucky to have found this gem! Our hosts, Franco & Lynne, are such lovely people. Breakfasts were cooked to order , you can have a full Scottish breakfast, and even a mimosa! Scotland has truly captivated us, and we can't wait to go back someday. We will come back to Southside. The city centre is a 15 minute walk, not far at all. City buses run all the time. We always felt safe in Edinburgh, even at night during festival.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and have their own theme, but Rm 8 is a beauty!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxAces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We loved this place. Our room had high ceilings, art, vintage and unique furniture, and a TV/DVD player with a selection of movies in the hallway. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very helpful. Only disappointment was that the walk to downtown is a bit far (but doable) and through some cheap areas. Most of the restaurants around here are cheap university-student take-away places, and there are several discount stores and resale shops. We never felt unsafe but it was unsavory. My advice is take the bus or taxis, because the Southside Guest House is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very nice place to stay! Easy to book before the trip. Good communication. We stayed here in July 2011 for two nights. We met nice people and lovely hosts. Really good food was offered for breakfast. Additionally we got very helpful information for our tour! Well worth the money!!! We will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews